Spiced Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Good flavor but it had the consistency of bread not fluffy like cake. Perfect with the spiced cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I think the spices (especially the allspice) and the banana do not work well together. Although I realize this may be a matter of personal preference, I thought the allspice was unpleasantly overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was really good. I usually make banana cake IV from this site, which I think is more or less the same with the exception of the spices and oatmeal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The best banana cake I have ever had. More like a loaf cake than a traditional cake. I made it in a bundt pan and frosted it with a vanila glaze. AMAZING!!!!! Made it yesterday and it's gone today! Can't wait for more banana's to ripen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillyconniegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Extremely moist and delicious. Really nice flavour. The spices and the bananas go great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This cake was very good. Lots of flavor...spicier than traditional banana cake recipes. The allspice does it! I did frost it with the allspice cream cheese frosting recipe here on allrecipes.com. Big hit and it keeps for days....still moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
While making this cake I acadentally put in cream cheese instead of sour cream.It still turned out wonderful!Moist and dense. Im gonna make it again with sr. crm. and mabey put some walnuts and rasins in it. YUMMY! You must use the allspice crm. cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was a really great cake. I made it at Thanksgiving alongside the pumpkin pie and everyone had some of each! I used the allspice cream cheese frosting, and it was good too. The only thing I would change is to use only about 3 cups of icing sugar in the icing, I found it a bit too sweet and I would have prefered a creamier frosting. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
everytime I take this I get raves must use allspice cream cheese frosting on it. Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
The best I have ever tried or tasted. Excellent compliment with the Cream Cheese Allspice frosting. The oatmeal really makes it special and unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States