Spiced Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I didn't like the texture of this cake. It wasn't fluffy like cake. It was rather dense. I didn't care for the oats in a cake but if this were a bread it would be fine. I used the amount of spices called for and still found the cake bland. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II found on this website, and with sliced fresh strawberries on top it was good when not considering the heaviness of the cake. I won't make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Tasted good, but didn't rise. I tried to make cupcake/muffins but the middle's collapsed on all of them. Took the remaining batter and placed in a loaf pan and the middle was sunk on that as well. Good flavor, but appearance was lacking. I followed recipe exactly as written so not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyomom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This would be better as a muffin. It needs the cream cheese frosting as it is quite dry. I used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and allspice and nutmeg each. This recipe needs to be improved for me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is why God made bananas!!! A delicious Banana cake, especially with the allspice cream cheese icing. Followed recipe to a 'T' and it came out perfect. Next time I think I may add some golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I used whole wheat flour and followed the reciepe, minus the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was delicious! Very moist and flavorful... and I loved the chewy texture of the oats in the cake. My family doesn't like a lot of frosting, so I glazed it with a Vanilla Glaze, which was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: South Bend, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
i added an extra banana and made this into muffins so much easier for the kids and loved them they were gone within the hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
The cake itself had nice flavor, but I think I may have added too much banana because they were too mushy/soft for my taste. The frosting was really good with them, though. I made them as cupcakes. Don't know if I would waste the time and ingredients to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Made this for a family gathering and there was not any left. Will love making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina's Delights

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Very good cake! I was looking for ways to use chinese 5-spice powder in baking, so I used 2 tsp. of powder instead of the allspice and nutmeg. I didn't have any sour cream so I used plain yoghurt. I will definately make this again, and might even use 3 tsp of the 5 spice powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States