Spiced Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Finally, a banana bread recipe which calls for SPICES that, in my opinion, are definitely lacking in more traditional banana bread recipes. I mixed all my dry ingredients together, including spices, and then mashed my 4 small, overripe bananas with a couple pinches of brown sugar, vanilla, a few shakes of cinnamon, and about 1/4c applesauce. After combining the eggs, I added a combo of 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugars. In lieu of melted butter, I opted for 1/4c canola oil and 1/4c applesauce and whisked well. I then added my dry ingredients slowly, using a mixer. I also tossed in some pumpkin pie spice just for good measure. Using a single greased 9x5" loaf pan, the batter fit perfectly. The only downside was that at 350 for 45 minutes, it browned too quickly, so I had to use tented foil to ensure a non-burnt loaf. However, the middle still wasn't done, so I popped the loaf in for another 15 minutes, and turned the heat down to 325 and used the tented foil again. Next time, I'll just bake at 325 since my oven runs a little hot and increase the time a bit, watching closely that it doesn't brown too quickly. I love spices in quick breads and this one was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe came out moist, I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and I added walnuts to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I will definitely be making this bread again. I made it last night and woke up today to find half of one loaf gone. I'd say my man either had a very large breakfast or took a bunch to work with him. Needless to say, it is a winning recipe. I did not have ground cloves, so I substituted with allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is my go to banana muffin recipe. I don't like banana myself, but my husband and 5 year old love these. I substitute 1/2 cup hemp protein for 1/2 cup flour and my son doesn't notice the difference but it increases the protein. I give him these and fruit for quick breakfasts and don't feel guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious recipe, Jennifer. Thank you. So easy to make. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup Splenda. Also, I added 1/2 tsp ginger, since it goes so well with the cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves. I figured the ginger wouldn't hurt anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph B.
Living In: Morris, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My stepson asked if he could taste it and ate 3/4 of a loaf...and he hates bananas!!! Said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Mine turned out great. I would add nuts (personal preference) if anyone else in my family would eat them. I made mine using half whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I didn't change a thing in this recipe and it was PERFECT!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
One of the best recipes I've ever tried. It tastes as good as it smells. I can die now. Thank you Jennifer Walsh for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States