Spiced Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This banana bread was great! The spices add a nice flavor, different from the standard b-bread. I put the batter in one pan and baked for a little longer. I also added 1 cup of walnuts to the mix. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I thought this was just ok. I've had better. It really wasn't very moist and it didn't rise much. Actually, I made one loaf and used the rest of the batter as muffins and the muffins rose ok but the loaf didn't rise at all. Really strange. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. I usually tinker with recipes but since I haven't made banana bread before I just made it the way it was written. It was dryer than other banana breads I've had before and not fluffy at all. I didn't really like the spice flavor either. However , It did make me crave pumpkin pie! These weren't inedible I just might try to find a different recipe that is more moist and doesn't have the "spice" that is kinda strange with banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
20 STARS! Absolutely perfect! Moist, yet somewhat fluffy and very flavorful. Great by itself and I found out it was very good with a little cream cheese icing. (Doesn't need the icing; I had some left over and thought I'd try it.) The recipe is so simple and at the same time it seems versatile. I may try adding other fruits, substitutions, etc... But I'll definitely be making it as written, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was very good, I didn't have ground clove so I used 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice. Also used applesauce instead of butter. Added an extra banana and used 1/2 splenda. Very moist, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
A yummy banana bread with very nice spice combination. In my opinion, a great bread to make if you're looking for that fall/winter "welcome to my home" smell or for when your spouse comes in from shoveling snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacobu
Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good - Friends who tried thought I have been making this bread for years, and I told them this was the first time I had ever made Banana Bread. I love this web site for find Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My bread machine banana bread recipe was bland-bland-bland, so I went looking for a new one. This is definitely a keeper! Haven't done any modifications yet, but next time might try the pear addition that one one reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! I usually don't like when the original recipe is changed but I did use 6 bananas instead of 4. Everything else kept the same. Both loaves were gone faster than it took to make them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is the best recipe I have used! The banana flavor came through very well (I skimped slightly on the cinnamon), and I put all of the mix in one 2qt pan instead of 2 separate loaves. I added 10 minutes to the bake time bc of this. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatEyes513
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my first attempt at quick bread, and this recipe was a HUGE success. The only deviation from the recipe was that I added 1C of pulverized walnuts. This bread is SUPER moist and very flavorful. I am very excited to create this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatEyes513

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States