Spiced Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Yum! Added chocolate chips and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now with wonderful results each time. First time was strictly following the recipe as written and it turned out well. I did need to add a few minutes to the bake time but the final result was great. The second time I made a few changes based on dietary needs and what I had in my pantry. I used Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour, 1 cup of brown sugar (no white sugar at all), and added one half of a bag of Nestle Dark Chocolate Chips (not semi-sweet, but those would work), and 1.5 cups chopped pecans. It was delicious! I did need to add 10 minutes total to the bake time and because I had forgotten to add the xanatham gum recommended when baking gluten-free the loaves were flat on top but the taste was wonderful! Very moist, spicy, and delicious treat. Great with morning coffee or after dinner. I did use 2 8"x3" loaf pans. I have not yet tried making muffins. This is my go-to recipe for banana bread now. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Delish! Very moist and flavorful! Definetly not too spicey, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Fantastic recipe. This makes a great muffin! I added 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour, in with the remaining 1 and 3/4 cups of white flour to give it some fiber. I also added 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips, and 1/4 tsp more cinnamon. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Really good and moist! I used brown sugar instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very Good! What a wonderful taste and texture. I did make a slight addition to this recipe. We like nuts in banana bread; I did not have any walnuts or pecan but I did have some honey caoted candied peanuts. I chooped 1 cup of peanuts and stirred them last just before pouring batter in loaf pans. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Loxley, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
SO GOOD!!!!! Best I have made for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpicyV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eydie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was really good! I did half and half brown and white sugar and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the different ones. I didn't have enough butter so I used applesauce to make up the difference. My kids loved it! We took the second loaf to their day care where it was promptly gobbled up by everyone! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I went in search of a banana bread recipe because I had several bananas that were over-ripe and I hated to throw them away. This version was very tasty. I like banana bread with walnuts, but I was out of them so I added chopped pecans instead and it was still delicious. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States