Spiced Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I love this recipe just because it uses 4 bananas, which happens to be about how many I typically have laying around! I tend to include almonds, my favorite nut, double the cloves, add in 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (because I'm evil like that), and substitute Vanilla Nut Butter flavoring in place of the vanilla (a trick I picked up from my Grandma and it makes ALL the difference!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very moist, just didn't like the strong spice. Next time I will use only half of the amouny of spice asked for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I make this every weekend but half the recipe and add chopped walnuts. I also only bake the one loaf for 40min. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is the best tasting banana bread I ever made! I made no variations to the recipe and was not disappointed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fombell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
this is very good very moist, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My husband is vegan, and I was missing a few ingredients, so I slightly modified this recipe and it came out delicious! To make it vegan, I substituted a 1/2 cup of water for the 2 eggs and 1/2 cup Earth's Best buttery spread for the butter. I was missing the 1 tsp vanilla extract, so I substituted with 2 tsp spiced rum. I was missing cloves as well and simply left them out. My husband, our friends, and our 1-year-old all loved the bread! I will definitely keep the recipe on hand for a go-to holiday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Good spice taste. I followed the recipe exactly and found the bread dry. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is a very moist bread. Liked this because it didn't call for nuts and had some extra spices which were nice. I mashed the banana up just enough and it was nice having some pieces of banana showing throughout the bread. I used 2 large ones. I only made one load so I cut the cooking back to 35 mins and it was perfect. Will make again and next time I might even add some more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
If my measurements were more in line with the instructions, this may well have been 5 star. I really liked this. It had a sweet, crispy crust with medium (not heavy, but still moist) inside. My preference would have been more spices, but the listed spices are a happy medium for more tradionalists. I had 5 small bananas and could taste them just fine. My "changes" were 1 cup brown sugar, an extra egg white, and a little extra melted butter(was there so I tossed it in.) I worried that I might need to add more flour, but it worked out just fine. I made 1 loaf and the rest went into muffins. House smells fantastic as a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dba18
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is a Wonderful Recipe!, the spices are just right for me. My usual recipes for banana bread are too bland, so this recipe is moving to the top of the list. The crust was a little crisp, just like I like it and the interior was smooth and moist. My hands were bothering me tonight so I didn't get the bananas mashed as finely as I usually do. This has left small half mashed pieces of banana throughout the bread. It made for a difference in texture between the bread and crust that made this banana bread a pleasure to eat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States