Spiced Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I went looking for a new banana bread recipe for a change from what I usually make. I was hoping that I could find one that I could add diced pears to, as I couldn't find a Pear/Banana Bread recipe. This was the one. What I did was half the amount of the bananas and add a can of drained, diced pears. I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of using the different spices called for in this recipe. Yum. This impressed my husband, who normally dosen't care for banana bread. I'll for sure be making this again. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
So yummy! Not a strong banana taste, which I liked. I added some brown sugar in with the white sugar to make 1 cup. If I had had enough, I would have used all brown sugar. I also made only 1 loaf and then put the remaining batter into mini bunt pans. Baked at the same time. Bunt muffins were done in about 23 minutes. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. I was out of brown sugar so I chose this recipe since it just used white sugar. The spices add a really nice flavor and the smell was fantastic while it was baking. I made one small pan and 6 good sized muffins. Next time I will add some walnuts to the batter since we like it with nuts. In my husband's words: "Hey, that's not too bad at all!" Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I've been looking for a great banana bread recipe that includes spices like cinnamon and nutmeg because so many out there don't have them. This was an awesome recipe! I don't have a loaf pan for some reason (I need to go buy one!), but I did as another reviewer suggested and just used a 2-quart square baking dish. Perfect!! I only had 3 bananas, but I thought it still turned out phenomenal. Also, I did as a couple other reviewers suggested and did 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used five bananas because I had them and didn't use cloves because I didn't. Used a mixture of brown and white sugars. My loaves were done in 37 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This banana bread was great! The spices add a nice flavor, different from the standard b-bread. I put the batter in one pan and baked for a little longer. I also added 1 cup of walnuts to the mix. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I did make it half brown sugar, half white sugar. But I'm sure it would have been delicious either way. This is the perfect banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
My family loved this bread. The spices are wonderful - gives banana bread a little "extra"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good - Friends who tried thought I have been making this bread for years, and I told them this was the first time I had ever made Banana Bread. I love this web site for find Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is the best recipe I have used! The banana flavor came through very well (I skimped slightly on the cinnamon), and I put all of the mix in one 2qt pan instead of 2 separate loaves. I added 10 minutes to the bake time bc of this. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Hobbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States