Spiced Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My husband is vegan, and I was missing a few ingredients, so I slightly modified this recipe and it came out delicious! To make it vegan, I substituted a 1/2 cup of water for the 2 eggs and 1/2 cup Earth's Best buttery spread for the butter. I was missing the 1 tsp vanilla extract, so I substituted with 2 tsp spiced rum. I was missing cloves as well and simply left them out. My husband, our friends, and our 1-year-old all loved the bread! I will definitely keep the recipe on hand for a go-to holiday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Good spice taste. I followed the recipe exactly and found the bread dry. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is a very moist bread. Liked this because it didn't call for nuts and had some extra spices which were nice. I mashed the banana up just enough and it was nice having some pieces of banana showing throughout the bread. I used 2 large ones. I only made one load so I cut the cooking back to 35 mins and it was perfect. Will make again and next time I might even add some more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
If my measurements were more in line with the instructions, this may well have been 5 star. I really liked this. It had a sweet, crispy crust with medium (not heavy, but still moist) inside. My preference would have been more spices, but the listed spices are a happy medium for more tradionalists. I had 5 small bananas and could taste them just fine. My "changes" were 1 cup brown sugar, an extra egg white, and a little extra melted butter(was there so I tossed it in.) I worried that I might need to add more flour, but it worked out just fine. I made 1 loaf and the rest went into muffins. House smells fantastic as a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dba18
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is a Wonderful Recipe!, the spices are just right for me. My usual recipes for banana bread are too bland, so this recipe is moving to the top of the list. The crust was a little crisp, just like I like it and the interior was smooth and moist. My hands were bothering me tonight so I didn't get the bananas mashed as finely as I usually do. This has left small half mashed pieces of banana throughout the bread. It made for a difference in texture between the bread and crust that made this banana bread a pleasure to eat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Love this banana bread! Next time, I won't put in the cloves though. I found that the clove flavor was a bit over powering. Still very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I could taste no banana in this recipe. I added walnuts which we like so the recipe made 3 loaves. . I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love the spices. I'm replacing the old recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Absolutely love this banana bread. It is my husband's favorite and when I took it to work for our holiday cookie/pastry xmas exchange, everyone raved about it. I add walnuts as a personal preference and I've also made it sugar free w/Splenda for my mother in law who is diabetic. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Finally, a banana bread recipe which calls for SPICES that, in my opinion, are definitely lacking in more traditional banana bread recipes. I mixed all my dry ingredients together, including spices, and then mashed my 4 small, overripe bananas with a couple pinches of brown sugar, vanilla, a few shakes of cinnamon, and about 1/4c applesauce. After combining the eggs, I added a combo of 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugars. In lieu of melted butter, I opted for 1/4c canola oil and 1/4c applesauce and whisked well. I then added my dry ingredients slowly, using a mixer. I also tossed in some pumpkin pie spice just for good measure. Using a single greased 9x5" loaf pan, the batter fit perfectly. The only downside was that at 350 for 45 minutes, it browned too quickly, so I had to use tented foil to ensure a non-burnt loaf. However, the middle still wasn't done, so I popped the loaf in for another 15 minutes, and turned the heat down to 325 and used the tented foil again. Next time, I'll just bake at 325 since my oven runs a little hot and increase the time a bit, watching closely that it doesn't brown too quickly. I love spices in quick breads and this one was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States