Spiced Bacon Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Wow. This recipe was fantastic! And I overheard everyone at our brunch commenting on the "amazing bacon." :) The only change was to 1/2 the amount of dry mustard powder; this gave it a hint of mustard without overpowering the other flavors. We'll definitely be making this for other get-togethers in the future! ----- Update: The leftover rub from this recipe is out-of-this-world on salmon. Just rub onto salmon filets and then grill til done. It's our new favorite way to eat salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKEDDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
After cooking this for several years, I have some advice to make it quicker and less messy: 1) Don't worry about twisting the bacon. Cut your packs of bacon in half, shake them in a bag of the brown sugar mixture, and then lay them very tightly packed onto an aluminum foil covered cookie sheet that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. They taste so delicious no one cares if they are twisted or not! 2) Immediately after removing from the oven, put each piece on cookie cooling racks that have been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Don't let them touch! I also put wax paper beneath the racks because that praline mess will drip. Let them cool and set. 3) Just add 1 tsp. of allspice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg. The clove adds something extra, just like when you stud ham with whole cloves. 4) Use the cheapest bacon you can find and definitely not thick cut. Everyone in my community loves this recipe and it has become the dish that is asked for the most when I attend parties. A friend of mine's son had some serious medical problems lately and he said that Candied Bacon would make him feel better! This bacon cures everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I used thick sliced bacon, so 30 minutes didn't get it crispy, but it didn't matter, I thought these were great. Just the right amount of spice with the cayenne. I used a big baggy to mix the spices in and then threw the bacon in which made it really easy to coat it. Yum! A fun recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
We tried this for brunch this weekend and it was a huge hit. My daughter affectionately renamed this "Candy Bacon". Best to cook it on a broiling pan so the drippings can drain off. Next time, I will wrap the almost finished product around shrimp or scallops and finish cooking on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElCee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I have been using this recipe since 1989 when I worked for a caterer, it's always a hit. (I do omit the cinnamon). It is a must try if you're looking for something new to bring to a party. We called it "Candied Bacon" at the Moose's Belly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb65

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nortonville, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Embden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was outstanding! I made a mistake and put 1/2 tsp. cayenne instead of 1/4 tsp.. I was so worried that it would be too spicy but it wasn't. I did not twist mine. Simply because I overlooked that part of the directions. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I really want to like these, but I guess candied bacon is just too much for us. Neither bf or I are huge fans, and I don't really taste any of the other spices. All I really taste is the sugar. I'd probably like it without the sugar though. Big points for the baking method--I don't cook bacon much, and I'd forgotten how much grease there is in bacon. Even after taking the alum foil out of the pan and throwing it away, I still had to wipe down the pan from all of the grease. However, much less messy and easier to clean up than on the stovetop. My bacon is fresh from the farm (literally--bf's parents gave us some from their butchering) and it was thicker, so it was a bit hard to twist, but I managed a few. Thanks for the recipe. I'll try it again without the sugar. Lesson learned that we don't like that combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've made these several times now, and have tweaked a few things to make it easier for me. I begin by using regular cut bacon, not thick, and I cut the slab in half so I get more appetizers out of each lb of bacon. I let it come almost to room temp; I've found this makes it easier to twist. Then I put my brown sugar mix (I only use 1C brown sugar, 1 tsp Allspice, and the 1/4 tsp Cayenne) in an oblong container, long enough for the bacon slices to make coating easier. I use the same temp and time in the oven, and they come out perfect every time! I just made these for my in-laws, who loved them, and they've become my husband's favorite hunting snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Quite tasty. Didn't have mustard in spice form, so I used dijon mustard instead. It made sort of a paste which I crumbled over the bacon and pressed it into the bacon. This worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Hit of the party- was asked by many for the recipe-great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Cook Bacon

See three easy ways to sizzle your bacon: stovetop, oven, and microwave.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States