Spiced Bacon Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
family liked, but burns too easily in the oven and isn't crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wow - I made these for my 'goodie' day on Friday and what a hit they were! I had people in my office all morning raving about the flavor! Next time I may try them on the barbeque grill to cut down on the mess though (my broiler pan looks like it needed to be thrown away). EXCELLENT recipe - thanks SO very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
What a way to dress up bacon. My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Hit of the party- was asked by many for the recipe-great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I should've made a quadruple batch! Everybodyloves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I will give this a 5 star when I figure a way to make them more crispy. Taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnnie Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wonderful! I omitted the cinnamon because I wanted a more savory taste. I do not like nutmeg so I omitted it as well. I only had a tablespoon of dry mustard powder on hand and used all of it. I doubled the cayenne pepper, and it was not overly spicy. I made a lot of alterations based on what I had in the pantry. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is so good! I add just a little more pepper. Love this recipe also because its easy to clean up and my house never smells like grease for days afterward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
After cooking this for several years, I have some advice to make it quicker and less messy: 1) Don't worry about twisting the bacon. Cut your packs of bacon in half, shake them in a bag of the brown sugar mixture, and then lay them very tightly packed onto an aluminum foil covered cookie sheet that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. They taste so delicious no one cares if they are twisted or not! 2) Immediately after removing from the oven, put each piece on cookie cooling racks that have been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Don't let them touch! I also put wax paper beneath the racks because that praline mess will drip. Let them cool and set. 3) Just add 1 tsp. of allspice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg. The clove adds something extra, just like when you stud ham with whole cloves. 4) Use the cheapest bacon you can find and definitely not thick cut. Everyone in my community loves this recipe and it has become the dish that is asked for the most when I attend parties. A friend of mine's son had some serious medical problems lately and he said that Candied Bacon would make him feel better! This bacon cures everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
So good, it's bad! I think I'll halve the recipe next time and only make 1/2 pound. These are almost irresistible. Good cold too. Great on salads. Great "garnish" on veggies (broken up) or even London broil. Lip smackin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjns

Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Cook Bacon

See three easy ways to sizzle your bacon: stovetop, oven, and microwave.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States