Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
made into muffins bake for only 30-35 minutes added chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Yum, turned out so moist and delicious. Love this. Used homemade applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I added 1 Tbl of apple cider vinegar and doubled the cinnamon and allspice but that is all I changed to the actual recipe I made. I wanted to make sure we were going to taste those spices! I also put it all in my bread machine to mix and bake. When the cycle was complete, it wasn't quite done in the center so I put the whole bread pan in the oven for about 15 min and it was done perfectly. It was very moist and had a wonderful flavor! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made this several times. I started adding chopped, dried cranberries and chocolate chips. I use 50/50 brown sugar and white sugar. I also use a brown sugar streusel topping. This recipe makes good muffins and even better mini muffins. Regular muffins took about 20-23 minutes, mini muffins about 15-18 minutes. The bread style I had to extend the cooking time by 10-15 minutes as the very center was still raw. My family swears it's one of the best things they've eaten. I didn't try using butter instead of oil as it tastes so good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stupid Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Following the recipe exactly as it's written (except for cooking it an additional 5 minutes), I give it 4 stars. After 30 minutes, I inserted the toothpick & it seemed a little undercooked, so I gave it a bit more time. This might be because I lined my pan with foil. The cake wasn't as "spicy" as I imagined it would be, so I might double the spices next time like others have suggested. It's a very nice cake though! Kinda crumbly on the outside & nice and moist inside. Reminds me of a hummingbird cake, sorta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The bones of this recipe are great. In an attempt to make it a *little* less bad for me, I subbed the vegetable oil for walnut oil I had on hand, used a stevia/sugar mix instead of straight sugar (1/2 c instead of a full cup of plain sugar), and 1 cup of AP flour with another 3/4 cup of white whole wheat flour. I doubled all the spices as well and added lightly floured walnuts instead of pecans. I stayed away from adding extra sugar since this is a quick bread and not a spice cake, and I love how this turned out. In the past I've added raisins or currants and those also make this even more delicious. All-in-all, the base recipe is probably my favorite for applesauce bread that I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great breakfast bread, moist and tasty. I doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg as suggested but I left out the allspice (did not have any). I used coconut oil, 1/3 sugar, 1/3 brown sugar, and 1/3 Splenda. I know, crazy. The bread bake fine in 60 minutes. This really turned out very nice. I will, made this breakfast bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We have a B&B and this bread is in our regular rotation. It is very easy to make, as is the cleanup. The recipe as written is very bland especially when you're calling it applesauce spice bread. I triple the listed spices and add 1/2 teaspoon ginger and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. I also add 1/2 teaspoon apple extract. It gets raves every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Lucio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HannahRenee
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I added about a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract to mine. I also used stone mini loaf pans so that I could give them as home-made gifts. I just eye-balled it and they were done in about 40 minutes instead of 60 for the larger loaves. If you use metal mini loaf pans, it probably will not take quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very Yummy! (we did leave the pecans out though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States