Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I added 1 Tbl of apple cider vinegar and doubled the cinnamon and allspice but that is all I changed to the actual recipe I made. I wanted to make sure we were going to taste those spices! I also put it all in my bread machine to mix and bake. When the cycle was complete, it wasn't quite done in the center so I put the whole bread pan in the oven for about 15 min and it was done perfectly. It was very moist and had a wonderful flavor! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made this several times. I started adding chopped, dried cranberries and chocolate chips. I use 50/50 brown sugar and white sugar. I also use a brown sugar streusel topping. This recipe makes good muffins and even better mini muffins. Regular muffins took about 20-23 minutes, mini muffins about 15-18 minutes. The bread style I had to extend the cooking time by 10-15 minutes as the very center was still raw. My family swears it's one of the best things they've eaten. I didn't try using butter instead of oil as it tastes so good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stupid Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Following the recipe exactly as it's written (except for cooking it an additional 5 minutes), I give it 4 stars. After 30 minutes, I inserted the toothpick & it seemed a little undercooked, so I gave it a bit more time. This might be because I lined my pan with foil. The cake wasn't as "spicy" as I imagined it would be, so I might double the spices next time like others have suggested. It's a very nice cake though! Kinda crumbly on the outside & nice and moist inside. Reminds me of a hummingbird cake, sorta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The bones of this recipe are great. In an attempt to make it a *little* less bad for me, I subbed the vegetable oil for walnut oil I had on hand, used a stevia/sugar mix instead of straight sugar (1/2 c instead of a full cup of plain sugar), and 1 cup of AP flour with another 3/4 cup of white whole wheat flour. I doubled all the spices as well and added lightly floured walnuts instead of pecans. I stayed away from adding extra sugar since this is a quick bread and not a spice cake, and I love how this turned out. In the past I've added raisins or currants and those also make this even more delicious. All-in-all, the base recipe is probably my favorite for applesauce bread that I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great breakfast bread, moist and tasty. I doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg as suggested but I left out the allspice (did not have any). I used coconut oil, 1/3 sugar, 1/3 brown sugar, and 1/3 Splenda. I know, crazy. The bread bake fine in 60 minutes. This really turned out very nice. I will, made this breakfast bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We have a B&B and this bread is in our regular rotation. It is very easy to make, as is the cleanup. The recipe as written is very bland especially when you're calling it applesauce spice bread. I triple the listed spices and add 1/2 teaspoon ginger and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. I also add 1/2 teaspoon apple extract. It gets raves every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HannahRenee
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I added about a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract to mine. I also used stone mini loaf pans so that I could give them as home-made gifts. I just eye-balled it and they were done in about 40 minutes instead of 60 for the larger loaves. If you use metal mini loaf pans, it probably will not take quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very Yummy! (we did leave the pecans out though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
i give this four stars for being very good. since i made a good few changes to it, i rated it 4 out of 5. for the applesauce, i used the big name brand chunky applesauce which already has some cinnamon in it, the chunks of apples is really great in this. for the vegetable oil, i substituted coconut oil. it's just delicious using the fragrant coconut oil. i swapped out 1 cup of King Arthur organic whole wheat flour. KA flour is very finely milled and boosts the nutritional value without sacrificing a tender outcome for the bread. also, i used half brown sugar and half white. also, added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and skipped all the other spices except cinnamon and made that a very heaping tsp. also, threw in a scant 1/2 tsp of salt. and always have used walnuts just because it's what i mostly have around, though i'm sure the pecans are great in this. i've made this bread countless times now, using three mini bread tins rather than one large bread, baking for about 40 minutes or so at same oven temp. (easier to give them away as gifts and not keep so much of it around!) this is a very good recipe with room for personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Fantastic bread! I had some homemade chunky applesauce in the fridge, so I used it in this recipe. Because there was quite a bit of liquid, I just omitted the milk. This made 3 (6 x 3 1/2) beautiful and tasty small pans of bread. I love having small loaves of quick breads in the freezer for my family and for sharing. Thanks LOUISE for sharing your recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States