Spiced Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
We used to always have these at the holidays. My mom always left the apples in halves, let them cool and them filled them with sweetened cream cheese with chopped celery and pecans folded in. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were fun to make and they taste good! I purchased Hot Tamales from my market's bulk bin since I needed such a small quantity and they did not have Red Hots. I did have to remove the Hot Tamales gelatinous center after the cinnamon coating wore off. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were easy and delicious! A new favorite. I substituted Splenda or the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My mother's recipe. Glad she could share it with everyone. We always had it on the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a wonderfully colorful recipe. I enjoy a little different version on my holiday table. Instead of slicing the apples, I cut them in rings. After cooking I chill the rings thoroughly. To serve: on small salad plates place some leafy green lettuce leaves, put an apple ring on top and place a tablespoon or so of crushed, well drained pineapple in the center of the ring. Makes a very pretty and festive dish at each place setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These turned out better than I had thought they would. Kids absolutely LOVED them. I didn't have the full 8 apples...but I still used the same amount of red hots. They were red (not pink) in color and took less time to cook in the microwave. I could only eat a few pieces as they were VERY sweet. Next time I might omit (or at least lessen) the amount of sugar. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great in place of raw apple snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great Recipe! Easy to make and the color is very pretty. Best of all it is tasty and healthy. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
They look pretty and are very easy, but I had to buy "red imperials" instead of Red Hots and the taste was not as hot and spicy with those candies. I would definitely try to find "Red Hots" to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great recipe. Luckily I found some red hots during the summer. These apples were tasty and the next door kids went wild over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States