Spiced Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I have been making a version of this for about 15 years. It is beautiful and delicious! I do not add the sugar & lemon juice (really not necessary) and cook the apples & candies in a large, heavy skillet on top of the stove. Just cook until tender and mash them slightly - be sure and leave some chunks for texture. Had eaten something similar at one of my husband's class reunions and decided to try making it myself. Really dresses up a holiday plate! The spices in the candy are perfect for the apples. You can increase/decrease the color and spiciness by controlling the amount of candy you add. Do try and enjoy! You will not be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I like this one a lot, much easier than the traditional whole baked apples with red hots in the middle. This one is microwave easy and just uses slices of apples! 15 minutes,baby! I used Rome apples and a little brown sugar in place of granulated white. We served it over Vanilla bean ice cream with a shot of cinnnamon schnapps and whipped cream on top.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Fast, easy, WONDERFUL! Doubled the recipe and they still all disappeared! Used Splenda instead of the sugar. Figured my diabetic sisters could have a few with the reduced sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
You will not need scented candles burning in your home to have a sweet smell of cinnamon, if you make this for your next party. The guests loved the taste of these simply prepared apples and my home had the scent of, well, Spiced Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is actually the basic recipe for my apple butter. I've always tossed in a handful of redhot candies, and cooked it all day in a slow cooker. It is utterly delicious and something I do all year with various types of apples adjusting the amount of sugar as needed. I've given it as gifts and my mailman has even asked for the recipe after getting a jar this past fall. Thanks Ruth. It's not only an easy recipe but fills the air anytime of year with holiday aromas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This were a big hit our family Christmas gathering. I didn't change a thing when making them, and they were wonderful. These turned out better, however, after letting them sit for a couple of hours. The color was beautiful and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
For some reason, none of the grocery stores near me carried red hots (very strange!). My review may not be completely accurate when showing my impression of the recipe's results (because I left out a pretty vital element). Still, already having purchased the apples, I prepared them without red hots and instead with some ground cinnamon and nutmeg...they turned out great! Served over some vanilla ice cream, they were gone in a minute---no leftovers whatsoever. Very yummy and easy to make! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
this is a great recipe kids loved it. It is easy to adjust to how much you want to make. The little box of red hots are 1/4 cup. So you do not have to buy a big sack if you do not want the extra sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and used fiji apples. We spooned it hot over ice cream and ate the leftover cold the next day. Both ways were very good. The color was pink, but I don't see what the problem is with that. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I took another reviewers advice and prepared this to put over ice creme, with granola. It was great and loved by the company we served it to. This is an easy recipe and I suggest you don't just prepare this for the holidays. Its very versatile-great as a topping for ice creme, or by itself, its a great side dish. Easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States