Spiced Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I like this one a lot, much easier than the traditional whole baked apples with red hots in the middle. This one is microwave easy and just uses slices of apples! 15 minutes,baby! I used Rome apples and a little brown sugar in place of granulated white. We served it over Vanilla bean ice cream with a shot of cinnnamon schnapps and whipped cream on top.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I took another reviewers advice and prepared this to put over ice creme, with granola. It was great and loved by the company we served it to. This is an easy recipe and I suggest you don't just prepare this for the holidays. Its very versatile-great as a topping for ice creme, or by itself, its a great side dish. Easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
You will not need scented candles burning in your home to have a sweet smell of cinnamon, if you make this for your next party. The guests loved the taste of these simply prepared apples and my home had the scent of, well, Spiced Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Ok - this recipe was easy, tasted great and the kids loved it. Why not 5 stars then? I was not a big fan of the artifical coloring. The apples were a serious red/pink color - not natural at all. However - no leftovers and we served it over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I was skeptical but these apples were delicious! Big hit at our Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Thanks for this very good recipe! VERY EASY, just took time to peel... Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
This recipe was ok. I am not sure if I like the twist of having red hots for the flavor although it was interesting. We ate most of them but I don't think I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Huge hit at our Thanksgiving table. So easy and quick to make with the help of 2 granddaughters peeling apples while I sliced. Served warm as a side dish, and saved some for topping ice cream later. Great both ways. I plan to serve this warm over icecream for Bunco group. Looks pretty and so yummy. This recipe is a winner. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Thank you for a wonderful recipe. This was a nice addition to my Thanksgiving table. Everyone wanted seconds AND the recipe. I'll be making this quite often throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I have been making a version of this for about 15 years. It is beautiful and delicious! I do not add the sugar & lemon juice (really not necessary) and cook the apples & candies in a large, heavy skillet on top of the stove. Just cook until tender and mash them slightly - be sure and leave some chunks for texture. Had eaten something similar at one of my husband's class reunions and decided to try making it myself. Really dresses up a holiday plate! The spices in the candy are perfect for the apples. You can increase/decrease the color and spiciness by controlling the amount of candy you add. Do try and enjoy! You will not be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States