Spiced Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is actually the basic recipe for my apple butter. I've always tossed in a handful of redhot candies, and cooked it all day in a slow cooker. It is utterly delicious and something I do all year with various types of apples adjusting the amount of sugar as needed. I've given it as gifts and my mailman has even asked for the recipe after getting a jar this past fall. Thanks Ruth. It's not only an easy recipe but fills the air anytime of year with holiday aromas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are so yummy! And they are so pretty too! Good especially for Valentines Day or Christmas....the trick is finding the "litle red heart" candy at times other than Valentines Day. I stock up on them right after Valentines DAy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very colorful. I had planned on serving this with pork chops but I see it would go very good with vanilla ice cream as well. I made it according to the recipe but next time I would leave out the lemon juice and slice the apples a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
For some reason, none of the grocery stores near me carried red hots (very strange!). My review may not be completely accurate when showing my impression of the recipe's results (because I left out a pretty vital element). Still, already having purchased the apples, I prepared them without red hots and instead with some ground cinnamon and nutmeg...they turned out great! Served over some vanilla ice cream, they were gone in a minute---no leftovers whatsoever. Very yummy and easy to make! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Yummo so good and easy-- I have a apple slicer/corer so they were in the pan in no time- yes I used a fry pan instead of a microwave I also use 2 small boxes of the cinnamon red hot candies as one box was about 1/8 cup . I also used 2 packets of splenda instead of sugar It saved calories and is diabetic friendly. I really like them warm right out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I was really disappointed with these,I made them exactly according to recipe and they were dry and didn't have any spice or apple taste to them. Even my dad who will eat anything did not like these. Sorry, I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and used fiji apples. We spooned it hot over ice cream and ate the leftover cold the next day. Both ways were very good. The color was pink, but I don't see what the problem is with that. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
this is a great recipe kids loved it. It is easy to adjust to how much you want to make. The little box of red hots are 1/4 cup. So you do not have to buy a big sack if you do not want the extra sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
very good, very easy the only thing is the color it is bright pink but other than that they were very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Fast, easy, WONDERFUL! Doubled the recipe and they still all disappeared! Used Splenda instead of the sugar. Figured my diabetic sisters could have a few with the reduced sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States