Spiced Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this as a loaf of bread instead of muffins. Pretty good, just a little bland, but I liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Pretty good - I added an egg. I think it needs a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I read through the reviews before I made this recipe. I used whole wheat white flour, "soured" milk, I used my own homemade organic applesauce and added one egg, as I was worried about them being a little dry. (The batter was a lot firmer and drier than I'm used to--I make at least three new muffin recipes a week so I'm quite good at spotting a good muffin recipe just by the batter.) I used a full teaspoon of apple pie spice instead of the individual spices only because I did not have anise seed on hand. These did turn out okay but they were a touch dry and I missed some kind of fat in the muffin. The buttermilk helped but I think this would be perfect with a bit of melted butter or vegetable oil and maybe a bit more applesauce. It's close--just not quite there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wow! These are fantastic! They came out moist and delicious. Very much like pound cake as some other reviewers said. That's what I was hoping for though! I was worried they'd be rubbery but they came out wonderfully. I left out the star anise since I detest it and subbed nutmeg. I think I'll add a little more spice next time though. That's just cause I like things really spicy! Thank you for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These muffins were tasty and good for you, they turned out perfect . I used canned apples and canned applesauce for my apples, turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWHITESIDES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Terrible muffins. Followed the recipe perfectly and they came out awful. Bad kind of chewy and stuck to the paper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These were pretty good, very moist. I left out the diced apple since it didn't appeal to me and the anise seed. The texture was a bit chewy and there wasn't very much flavor, but that might have been partially due to leaving out the diced apple. Next time I'll be sure to add more spices and maybe an egg. Other than that, these were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
These turned out quite tough. Maybe the problem was my using a homemade unsweetened applesauce that was chunky, thus giving less liquid than was needed. They were popular with my guy housemate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Mound, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shell Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I haven't made these yet (thus the middle-of-the-road rating), but it's going in my recipe box since it looks good. My son is allergic to eggs and milk, so we have a lot of experience in eggless baking -- when they come out that dense, which is often the case, I up the baking powder and reduce the applesauce and it usually works like a charm. I'll probably try 3 tbsp applesauce and 2 tsp baking powder (and let you know how it turns out!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperK, Beginner Baker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States