Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Fan-freakin-tastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The Cupcakes were okay but it was to sweet for me and i had issues with the pinch measurement and it did not have enough spice. This recipe would be better with less sugar and more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were ok, but they tasted more like a spiced muffin with a drier consistency and less sweetness than I'd expect in a cupcake. I'd make them again as a muffin to eat with dinner - like cornbread or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Nice flavor! Very heavy to be called a "cupcake" though. I would call these muffins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Pretty caramel-beige in color, perfectly shaped, moist cupcakes. Just mildly sweet, they’re an ideal foundation for sweet frosting. The cornstarch acts as cake flour would, making these very light and fluffy with a tender crumb. They are, quite simply, above criticism. Except for one thing….they are WIMPY in terms of spice! I mean, you barely notice any spice flavor at all. For the “four pinches” each of salt and nutmeg called for I used 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. If I were to make these again I’d probably double both the cinnamon and the nutmeg and might even consider adding 1/4 tsp. each of cloves and ginger as well. Paired with "Caramel Frosting IV," also from this site, these were a beautiful cupcake. Don't be shy about making 'em - just add more spice! Update: Unfortunately I have to change my rating from four stars to three. While these were good and moist after I baked them, the next morning they were disappointingly dry. Perhaps adding a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
topped with almond butter cream frosting...DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! I had a hard time baking these because the batter was SO DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have a problem with the pinch measurements because I actually pinch and dash measuring spoons :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
OMG!!!!This is the best cupcake I have EVER eaten. I make cakes for a living and refer to this site for flavor profiles all the time. I stumbled onto this recipe and think it is absolutely fantastic! I added a few more shavings of fresh nutmeg and used Jamacian Allspice. This is spectacular I am puttin two more stars here **!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaChocolateDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
So tasty and only a hint of sweet. I prefer a little more spice so I add a bit more to taste of the nutmeg and cinnamon. Topped with a classic vanilla buttercream, these are amazingly easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlee
Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yummmm... whoever said that the batter was too yummy... was right!!! I think I just gained a lb ha ha. Great recipe!! I didn't have anymore cupcake liners, so I just made it into a cake, super yummy!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States