Spice Cookies with Crystallized Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
So delicious and crispy! I didn't have any dark corn syrup, so I did what another reviewer suggested, using 1/4 cup brown sugar and a whole egg instead of the white alone. And somehow I managed to run out of baking soda without noticing, so I used a heaping tsp. of baking powder. I also rolled them in turbinado sugar instead of white -- beautiful! These are the kinds of cookies that you have to keep eating because that wonderful ginger and spice flavor stays in your mouth. This recipe is definitely going to become a regular thing in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is a nice-tasting cookie. I only had salted butter, so omitted the salt. I got 2 dozen cookies from this recipe. Baked the first dozen for 15 minutes; second dozen for 17 minutes which made them a little crispy around the edges and chewy inside the way we like them. I would try adding lots more crystallized ginger next time. Thanks for the recipe, J. Storm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These are really delicious. I added a little extra sugar and changed some things around. Like using baking powder instead of soda, using a little brown and cutting the corn syrup in half. Adding a little yolk, and later an itsy bit of milk. I added more of each spice plus nutmeg too-- I like mine full of flavour. The reason for most of this was because I like a fluffier cookie, so mine were a tad different... I'm sure the crunchy cookie is absolutely to-die-for as well! Like another reviewer, I left the powdered sugar off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These came out very yummy - about to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
These are definitely among the best cookies I have ever eaten. I love the crystalized ginger for the extra zip and the texture is just the best—light and crispy and melt-in-your-mouth. They are perfect just the way they are, but since I love chocolate-covered ginger, next time I might try dipping half the cookie into melted dark chocolate. Or I might roll out the dough and make ginger boys. Thanks, J. Storm, for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These are very good, very different cookies. They remind me of a gingersnap, but not as strong. I don't really even like gingersnaps, but these are great--sort of a cross between a snickerdoodle and a gingersnap. I don't know--they're hard to describe, but they're delicious. In my opinion, the best way to do them is to place each ball of dough in the white sugar and press it down into the white sugar. This gives it more coverage with sugar and it looks more sparkly after cooking. I liked the look better without dipping in the powdered sugar afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This is the perfect cookie. The spice blend is absolutely flawless, and the texture is ideal. These cookies keep well at room temperature and do not go stale, even with repeated opening of the container. I cannot think of a single improvement, except perhaps to double the recipe when you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
tasty cookie. crystalized ginger is a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Everyone LOVES these cookies. Several people have said these are the best cookies they have EVER eaten. So delicious; the crystallized ginger gives them a real ZING! I didn't dip them in the powdered sugar, and don't think they need that extra sweetness. Perfect without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Spice cookies are my favorite, and this recipe is fantastic! The spices come out so flavorful! I've only made them once so far, and had to tweak it since I had no corn syrup. I ended up adding 1/4 cup brown sugar instead, and adding the whole egg. The texture came out delicately crispy and crunchy, like a tea cookie, and I loved it (I enjoy crunchy and crispy far more than chewy cookies). I'm not sure how the original recipe should come out, but I liked the tweaked version so much I'll probably just make it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States