Spice Cookies with Crystallized Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My husband loves ginger while I'm okay with it but we both loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellectualditz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These are really good. I made them as the recipe stated. Next time to make them perfect I will use one whole egg, and add 1/4 cup brown sugar to the dough. We thought they were a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I just wish I'd made a double batch. These are AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Instead of using store bought crystallized ginger, I made some myself by boiling cut/shredded ginger in sugar water until it the ginger became chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside (around 20-30 minutes). Mixing that into the batter was absolutely delicious. In fact, I would even love the chunks of crystallized ginger to be larger but I'm a ginger freak. The cookies had great texture even when cooled down - not too crispy and not too soft. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I give this recipe 4.5 stars. Flavor was amazing. Not sure I loved the crystallized ginger as I could not chop it fine enough to incorporate into the cookie the way I thought it should. In the future, I will likely use minced ginger to stay away from a fruit bread concept. Also, all of my cookies flattened on the sheet (probably let the sheet get too hot or the butter too warm before blending) and I had problems with the sugary glass pressing process, so I skipped it. All that said, the flavor was amazing. The cookies were soft and delicious. They do not harden over time. And, they got rave reviews from all of my foodie friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made this recipe this weekend and they were delicious. The only problem I ran into was that they took on a slightly metallic-y taste when they cooled. Maybe I'll try less baking soda and more sugar next time around. All in all, though, they were very flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I didn't use the crystalized ginger and used molasses instead of dark corn syrup...and these still came out great! I brought them to a 4th of July event and got positive reviews. I definately agree with the revieers that said this tasted like a ginger snap~but much softer. Used a tablespoon of dough for every cookie to make miny cookies~very cute and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
wonderful if served after 12-24hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Such a yummy cookie. Perfect recipe, no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent! Made with 1 T light corn syrup and 1 T molasses (I was out of dark corn syrup). My husband rated these "the best ever"! Perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States