Spice Cookies with Crystallized Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This was a great recipe and it tasted fantastic the first time I tried it. I made them originally for a Party but they tasted so good my husband insisted I took something else because he wanted them all! They have a really strong flavour and unlike some of the other recipes I've tried they came out the oven looking perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I baked these cookies and filled the cookie jar over the holidays. They were a big hit. The combination of spices with the crystallized ginger makes for a crispy, gingersnap-type treat. They didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This cookie was a big hit at my office. They turned out very well, even the first time, and I found them to be easy and quick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Really yummy. I love the crystallized ginger bits. My 2 year old couldn't get enough of these. We're about to make some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Spice cookies are my favorite, and this recipe is fantastic! The spices come out so flavorful! I've only made them once so far, and had to tweak it since I had no corn syrup. I ended up adding 1/4 cup brown sugar instead, and adding the whole egg. The texture came out delicately crispy and crunchy, like a tea cookie, and I loved it (I enjoy crunchy and crispy far more than chewy cookies). I'm not sure how the original recipe should come out, but I liked the tweaked version so much I'll probably just make it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Everyone LOVES these cookies. Several people have said these are the best cookies they have EVER eaten. So delicious; the crystallized ginger gives them a real ZING! I didn't dip them in the powdered sugar, and don't think they need that extra sweetness. Perfect without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
tasty cookie. crystalized ginger is a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This is the perfect cookie. The spice blend is absolutely flawless, and the texture is ideal. These cookies keep well at room temperature and do not go stale, even with repeated opening of the container. I cannot think of a single improvement, except perhaps to double the recipe when you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These are very good, very different cookies. They remind me of a gingersnap, but not as strong. I don't really even like gingersnaps, but these are great--sort of a cross between a snickerdoodle and a gingersnap. I don't know--they're hard to describe, but they're delicious. In my opinion, the best way to do them is to place each ball of dough in the white sugar and press it down into the white sugar. This gives it more coverage with sugar and it looks more sparkly after cooking. I liked the look better without dipping in the powdered sugar afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
These are definitely among the best cookies I have ever eaten. I love the crystalized ginger for the extra zip and the texture is just the best—light and crispy and melt-in-your-mouth. They are perfect just the way they are, but since I love chocolate-covered ginger, next time I might try dipping half the cookie into melted dark chocolate. Or I might roll out the dough and make ginger boys. Thanks, J. Storm, for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States