Spice Cookies with Crystallized Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were just ok. Came out a little dry. Was a great recipe for me to use up some of the stuff that I have in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Crispy with a kick! Love these...I had a little leftover white chocolate from another recipe which I melted and dipped half of each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I used fresh ginger, a whole egg, and forgot the ground ginger, and these were fantastic! They taste like Christmas time and home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were a great addition to my holiday cookie box! I followed the recipe to a T but chilled my dough in between batches. I doubled the recipe and got about 36 or so cookies out of it. Instead of using the powdered sugar, I used sugar in the raw to roll my cookie balls in prior to baking and then flattened them out to half of the original ball's height with a glass. In regards to taste, tehy were good. They're on the crispy side....so if you like a harder cookie this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Although I replaced the Karo syrup with molasses. Then I frosted and sprinkled with ground up candy cane. My kids rated them 1000 out of 10. Frosting: 2 C. powdered sugar. 2 tbsp butter. 3 tbsp milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this as written, except used light corn syrup instead of dark, (and altitude adjustments for 7000') It's wonderful. Nice spice cookie without molasses. Presents spice flavor without being too sweet. Made it again, modifying the spice mix. Doubled the cinnamon, ginger, and crystallized ginger, reduced cloves to 1/4 tsp, added 1 tsp cardamon. Very good, next time, I'll add even more ginger. Adjust spice mix to suit your taste, and double the recipe, these disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made these for a book group and they were a BIG hit. They are a little much for those who are looking for a milder 'ginger bread' taste, but perfect for those who love a spicy treat! They disappeared and were great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cattywompuswoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I had some leftover crystalized ginger from another recipe and thought I'd give them a try...glad I did. I also added some chopped candied ginger that I had left over as well. I did not knead my dough as my mixer did a nice job, nor did I roll my cookies into a ball and dip them in sugar...waaaayyyy too time consuming, I wanted somehting quick. I used my small Pampered Chef melon-baller to scoop the dough into nice small balls then dipped a juice glass in sugar to flatten them down and sprinkled decorator sugar on them. I did follow up with a simple powdered sugar glaze after they cooled. Very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use up some surplus crystallized ginger, and I'm quite pleased with this exceptionally tasty cookie! They have a light texture because of the egg white. I used slightly heaping teaspoons of the ginger and cloves and a tiny bit less cinnamon because I prefer ginger to cinnamon. I rolled them in sanding sugar (slightly larger crystals than ordinary granulated) and sprinkled a little extra on top after pressing them with a glass. I haven't yet drizzled them with the icing, and I might not bother - the sugar provides a nice sweetness (which echoes the slight crunch of the crystallized ginger) without dulling the spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
very good! i rolled into one inch balls and only cooked them for 9 min so they would be soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States