Spice Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I used part margarine and part shortening and also added an egg as others suggested. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan for 20+ minutes. I kept checking after 20 minutes to make sure not to overbake. Very tasty indeed! I loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jan951
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These spice bars were fantastic! I used another reviewer's recommendation and added an egg to the batter. Since my oven tends to run a little hot I only baked the bars for 18 minutes & they turned out perfectly. I accidentally used 1/2 T cinnamon but it worked. Hubby loved them. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Don't know what I did wrong, but mine were dry and hard and I baked at a lower temperature for 25 minutes. I thought maybe it needs an egg!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I also underbaked it a few minutes, and they turned out fabulous! Just like a soft molasses cookie. The kids loved it too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danube, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice and added an egg and watched how long I left them in the oven. When they first came out, they tasted really good. It was odd, though, because after a few hours, they didn't taste as good. It became something of a chore to finish them off. So.. maybe skip the egg? Also, I didn't use half the icing and they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This one is a "WINNER" They are very easy to make & at first they don't look like their going to turn-out like anything but crumbs but when you pat them down in your baking-pan & bake WOW are they ever delicious, we only had to bake 20 min & they were done! After they were baked & still warm in the pan, we poked holes in cake w/a regular table fork so the glaze/icing could seep through the cake b/f cutting. What a treat!!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Such a wonderful spice bar! I agree with some of the others to undercook is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
If you like a good, spicy cookie, this is the one. Even after adjusting the spices (1 teas. cinnamon, 1/2 teas. ginger, 1/4 teas. cloves), it is still plenty spicy. I did find the dough too dry and added 1 egg to the mixture. Baked 17 minutes and they are moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I think the trick with these is not to overbake. My first batch were bricks but since the flavor was great I tried again and simply watched them more closely in the oven. So without altering the ingredients they turned out great after 18 minutes of baking. (Probably could have gone 20 but I was nervous, hee hee.) Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
tasted great, smelled great...what did I do wrong? I baked 20 minutes and they were harder they rocks. Seem they need more of some kind of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States