Spice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I never liked cake doughnuts but since I had a pot of oil to use I decided to try this recipe. These are the lightest cake doughnuts I've ever made. We LOVE them! I used pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon in mine. After mixing I let the dough sit in the bowl for 15 minutes before deep frying so the BP could work. The dough was nice and puffy even raw. Instead of dropping spoonfulls in the hot oil I wet my fingertips slightly and gently pulled the dough flat-ish. Much easier to cook this way. Not only do they stay turned over when you turn them, but you can be sure the insides won't be doughy like fat golf balls can be. I dipped them in a very thin glaze. I've already eaten 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is the first time that I ever made doughnuts or deep fried ANYTHING. I didn't have a thermometer so I was a little nervous about the oil temperature. I found a couple tips: put a wooden handle in the oil and when bubbles come off of it the oil is ready to go. Make sure that you increase the temperature slowly so you find the minimum temp. at which this happens. It took a little adjusting but it was fairly easy. Also, test a cube of bread...it should brown in about 2 min. I didn't use this method as it didn't seem very logical because bread is dry. I followed the recipe almost exactly (I substituted pumpkin pie spice for the mace) and found it a little sticky to form into balls, but they tasted so good that I am hesitant to change anything. Make sure that your ball sizes are close to a teaspoon or slightly smaller; they puff in the oil. Basically, these were a cinch to make, quick, and tasted delicious! Thanks for an easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I made these the other day when I had a craving for spice donuts. I used cider instead of milk and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by penny p.
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were so easy and great! I made the dough the night before and left it in the fridge. I rolled the dough into small balls before frying, and they all came out looking uniform and perfect. I coated some in cinnamon sugar, and some with the glaze from the Crispy Creamy Doughnuts (also on this website). They were fantastic! **NOTE**--I kept a close watch on the thermometer, and these cooked PERFECTLY at 370-375 degrees. Thanks Mary for a great recipe! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I was looking for a drop dougnut recipe, in order to make apple fritters. The dough was a bit too thick for a drop recipe. Next time, I will add a bit more milk. I chopped up two apples and mixed into this recipe for the apple fritters. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Tasty! But didnt hold their shape well... I think I'll need to use more milk next time. But easy and fast to make for that donut craving! Here's a hint: if you're deep frying them on the stove top... make sure you do a couple test runs... because they can brown fast. I found MED-LOW was the best for cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So good! Left out the mace, since I had none, and rolled them in cinnamon-sugar while still warm. My kids and husband loved them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I liked the ones that I made a bit bigger. The small ones had more crunch than soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I only made one substitution--I did not have ground mace on hand, I used ground nutmeg instead. I used my small cookie scoop to pick up the dough and drop it into the hot oil, then a wooden skewer to flip them over to cook on all sides. Very simple for me. My family ate these just as fast as I could cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made these several times for the family who rave about them each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States