Spice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Super easy recipe, and quick too. I will say they aren't nearly as good after they've cooled, so make only as many as you want to eat warm and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyTurtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Thank you for this excellent recipe! It was quick, easy and tasty! The kids (7,4,1) were able to help. Got a "Mom, those doughnuts were excellent" and a spontaneous hug from my 4 yr old son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
OMG!!! This helped so much for my craving!!! I've tried another recipe before and this definitely is the best one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
wonderful. i have been making these for many years. my boys love "donut balls" and these are easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
good for a quick recipe that doesn't have to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I liked the ones that I made a bit bigger. The small ones had more crunch than soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by penny p.
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were so easy and great! I made the dough the night before and left it in the fridge. I rolled the dough into small balls before frying, and they all came out looking uniform and perfect. I coated some in cinnamon sugar, and some with the glaze from the Crispy Creamy Doughnuts (also on this website). They were fantastic! **NOTE**--I kept a close watch on the thermometer, and these cooked PERFECTLY at 370-375 degrees. Thanks Mary for a great recipe! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have made this before and really liked these! Made again today---My only complain is that some of them were not done in the middle (definately use teaspoon size when dropping in hot oil as suggested in recipe). But otherwise, great w/ cinn/sugar and pwdrd sugar! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I never liked cake doughnuts but since I had a pot of oil to use I decided to try this recipe. These are the lightest cake doughnuts I've ever made. We LOVE them! I used pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon in mine. After mixing I let the dough sit in the bowl for 15 minutes before deep frying so the BP could work. The dough was nice and puffy even raw. Instead of dropping spoonfulls in the hot oil I wet my fingertips slightly and gently pulled the dough flat-ish. Much easier to cook this way. Not only do they stay turned over when you turn them, but you can be sure the insides won't be doughy like fat golf balls can be. I dipped them in a very thin glaze. I've already eaten 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
These were yummy. They are light and fluffy inside, crispy outside- almost like cake doughnut holes, but not quite. Very easy, minimal mess. I gently rolled the dough between my palms to give them better texture, and they still puffed up beautifully and held together nicely. Next time I will use a little less mace since it tends to be overpowering. The sugar coating would make these REALLY delicious with less cinnamon and a little cardamom added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States