Spice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is my "go to" recipe for donuts. I gave it 4 stars because it really needs a little more spice but other than that- fabulous. I do add, after trying this several time, applesauce instead of oil...Makes me feel a little better . they turn out great every time. You can even coat with cinnamon sugar. oh, and I use a pampered chef melon baller to scoop and drop into the oil- perfect donuts every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was fantastically easy even though I had never deep fried anything in my life. I'm normally quite afraid of extremely hot oil and its volatility with temperature. Even at 350 degrees, these balls cooked and browned beautifully. Crispy on the outside and super soft on the inside. I would just recommend a bit more flavor to the dough itself (if you're not going to coat in sugar). This is a simple and quick recipe when I'm craving some donuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This recipe was great my 4 year old loved helping me make these. I left the cinnamon and mace out an they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icancook:)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
i made them for a school project and the teacher loved it...lol...now i cant stop making them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icancook:)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is the first time that I ever made doughnuts or deep fried ANYTHING. I didn't have a thermometer so I was a little nervous about the oil temperature. I found a couple tips: put a wooden handle in the oil and when bubbles come off of it the oil is ready to go. Make sure that you increase the temperature slowly so you find the minimum temp. at which this happens. It took a little adjusting but it was fairly easy. Also, test a cube of bread...it should brown in about 2 min. I didn't use this method as it didn't seem very logical because bread is dry. I followed the recipe almost exactly (I substituted pumpkin pie spice for the mace) and found it a little sticky to form into balls, but they tasted so good that I am hesitant to change anything. Make sure that your ball sizes are close to a teaspoon or slightly smaller; they puff in the oil. Basically, these were a cinch to make, quick, and tasted delicious! Thanks for an easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So good! Left out the mace, since I had none, and rolled them in cinnamon-sugar while still warm. My kids and husband loved them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
We really liked these. I like the spice in them and would even increase the amount within the donuts. I like them plain (not rolled in sugar/cinnamon) but the kids liked them rolled in it. Will make these again especially since they went together so quickly (no chilling required) and came out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These were pretty good. I wasn't too thrilled with the spice portion of this donut but I would like to do it next time without spice and just have a plain donut with sugar and cinnamon on the outside. It was very fluffy and light. I used my ice cream scoop and then pushed it into the hot oil with a spoon. They came out nice and round. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good! A couple things: 1. I didn't have mace, so I used pumpkin pie spice. Next time, I'll add more spice, because I just didn't get that much of a flavor. 2. Like other reviewers said, make sure to make them small otherwise they will not cook all the way through. Overall, a very good recipe, but it's still not "THE" recipe. I'm still on the hunt, but for now, this one is the best one I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
great, the family loved them and I even forgot to put in the Egg. I just sprinkle with 10X sugar and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Spicy Pumpkin Spice Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite fall latte at home.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States