Spent Grain Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The hubby made a batch of beer to mimic Guinness (called Genius, clever). The spent grains were therefore partially toasted. I worried my bread would come out tasting burnt. Nope. Delicious. This is one of the best breads I have made! I started it in the bread machine and finished it in the oven. There will be no wasted grain from here on out. My freezer is now full of pre-measured 1/2 cup packets of spent grain. This is now our daily bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Now, I gave this 5 stars even though I didn't follow the exact recipe so really it's hard to judge, but this recipe is a great base and I'm certain it'd turn out great as is. I currently don't have a bread machine so made a couple changes as mentioned by some other reviewers. Used 3/4 cup spent grain rather than 1/4 cup, no powdered milk, no rye flour and instead used 2 cups whole wheat flour, no vital wheat gluten and used 2 tsp. of yeast. Mix honey, sugar, yeast and warm water (100-110*F), cover and let sit for 10 min. Reserve 1/4 cup bread flour and set aside to roll dough in later for the counter. Add the rest of the ingredients into the bowl and mix. Knead dough and make sure butter has broken up. Roll dough into a ball and place into bowl, cover and set in a warm place for 30-40min. It is ready when you push a finger and indent remains. Pull at edges of dough and push into center rather than punching directly as we're used to doing with such recipes. Lightly sprinkle the flour that you reserved onto the work surface and place dough on, you may roll it out with a rolling pin but I just pull it with my hands into a roughly rectangular shape with one end being about the length of the bread pan. Roll up and pinch seam and place seam side down into buttered/oiled bread pan. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise in warm place for about 30-40min or until top of dough rises about 1 inch above the edge of the bread pan. Preheat oven to 375*, bake 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We love this recipe. The first time I made it, I didn't have the vital wheat gluten, so I added an extra tsp of yeast. We also didn't have the rye flour, so I substituted barley flour... worked out great. Started the yeast in warm water and sugar, then mixed it in the Kitchen Aid, kneaded for 5 minutes, let it rise, shaped it into a peasant loaf and cooked it at 350F for about 35-40 minutes. It was delicious. Now I have all the ingredients, and I'm trying it as written, but I'm sure it will be just as good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a great, hearty bread!!! About the only changes that I've made are to bump the spent grains to 3/4 cup (I love the crunch and texture those provide), and occasionally use grain that has not been mashed (fresh, cracked...) The benefit is being able to shop at my local home brew supply and pick exactly what grains and ratios that I want to use in the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great bread recipe, one of my favorite bread machine recipes I've found so far. My husband recently got into brewing beer at home and this uses up some of the leftover grain perfectly. Also, I hadn't tried using vital wheat gluten in my bread machine recipes yet and it really helped the texture and crumb. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very nice bread. I used my bread machine on the dough setting, then let it rise for about 30 min in my oven with the light on, then baked at 375 for about 40 min. Bakes up very nice! I love ww breads, and this is very good. I used AP flour instead of bread flour; with the wheat gluten it's fine and rises very well. I'd probably add some oats next time to make it a little more grainy--I love the texture of oats or cracked wheat in breads. I did use spelt flour bc that's what I've got. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wow this turned out SO good! I wish I had known about this recipe when my DH was in his beer-making stage. Since Ididn't have the leftover grain I threw cracked wheat into the water. I only had buttermilk powdered milk. Subbed wheat germ for the rye & threw in whole flaxseeds. I didn't have the full amount of wheat gluten. I did use a package of active dry yeast. I guess I did change up the recipe, but the bread is terrific! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made this with the following changes: - cracked bulgar wheat instead of spent grains. - maple syrup instead of honey - 2 tsp of yeast instead of one and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I brewed some beer over the weekend and when I found this recipe I was really excited about re-using some of the grains from my brew. I'm still excited about the recipe after baking this bread. A nice dense loaf, with a light sweet touch to the crunchy crust. Perfect for breakfast, plain or toasted with a little butter, or maybe a nice turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States