Spelt Flour Bread Machine Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I make this every week now, Love it! I don't braid it anymore, just plop it into a baking tin and let it rise then bake it for 40 minutes. My family just loves it and it is healthy, the gluten in spelt flour is easier to digest than wheat gluten. Thanks for an amazing bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this bread today for my nephew (a Celiac), for Thanksgiving stuffing especially for him. I've gotta say this gluten-free bread is excellent! Soft, moist, flavorful - it takes like the best whole wheat bread I've ever had - you cannot tell it's made different. My braided loaf only took about 20 minutes to bake on 375, so keep an eye on it. Thanks for a great recipe - my nephew will be thrilled - gluten-free bread that doesn't taste and feel like you're eating cardboard!! YAY! Got any other GF bread recipes, Loribarry?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I just loved this bread turned out great. I did change it a bit I put in 2 cups whole wheat in place of the whole grain spelt flour as I had no whole grain spelt flour. I skipped the xanthan gum and it didn't seem to matter. I am keeping this recipe it is the best one I have yet found for the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe is great! I have only recently started making bread and have only used the Bread maker, never the oven. I was so happy with how this turned out, much better than anything I've tried. The changes I made: No Sugar, I used a little bit of Agave syrup to keep things natural. No xanthan gum and I used Spelt and Whole Wheat, as I didn't have whole wheat spelt. I also crushed 2 cloves of garlic in the egg to glaze over top. Finally only needed 30 mins in the oven. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
The first time I made this it didn't rise very well. This time I warmed the water in the microwave for 30 seconds and I sifted (actually wisked) the xanthan gum into the flour. It rose beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Love this recipe. I don't braid it. I shape it into a loaf on the counter with a little more spelt so it doesn't stick and through it in a bread pan. Let is rise in the oven at 200 F with the door cracked for 25 minutes and then cook it for 30 minutes at 350. Perfect loaf every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
NOT GLUTEN FREE, NO CELIACS! OK, sorry. Nothing against this recipe. I haven't tried it, so I gave 5 stars since that's what it has right now. I saw someone saying they made this for a Celiac relative, and calling it GF, and it's not. It's not regular wheat, and someone with a wheat allergy or sensitivity may do fine with it (but don't take my word for it, check with that individual and/or your doctor), but it *does* still have gluten in it and that exposure can still be dangerous for true celiacs. Wishing all good health!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I used only whole grain spelt and put the dough into a bread pan to rise and cook. I used the rest of the ingredients as listed in the recipe. It is soooooo good and received thumbs up from even my pickiest eater. My husband has allergies to wheat (luckily not gluten), so this is a great option for our family. This is the 5th recipe that I have tried and it beats all those others hands down. Thanks for a wonderful recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
OMGosh this was by far the best spelt recipe I have found. I used 4 cups of whole grain spelt flour that I had I ground in my vitamix, I didn't use the xanthan gum and it was fabulous without it. I removed the dough used a little flour kneeded very slightly just enough to shape and put it straight into a loaf pan into a slightly cracked oven at 200 degrees for 30 mins to rise and then increased temp to 350 degrees and cooked for 30 minutes. This is an absolute keeper for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent bread! I used four cups of fresh ground spelt and no xanthan gum. I used the dough cycle on my breadmaker, and then raised it in two smaller loaf pans until double and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States