Spelt Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This turned out great! I had never made spelt bread and, after searching on the net, I discovered that it's supposed to be difficult to make come out right. This came out in my bread machine better than the white and wheat recipes I'd used. I used the "Quick" setting, which had 2 risings, instead of the "Basic" setting, which had 3 risings in order to cut down on kneading. Delicious! Beth, I hope you've posted your muffin and brownie recipes too--I'll search! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I have been trying to find a good spelt flour bread recipe for awhile. This turned out excellent. I used skim milk instead of rice milk and added 5 tablespoons of cracked grains (flax, rye, millet, etc). I used the quick bread cycle and selected light crust on my bread machine. Then I buttered the crust as soon as it was done and put it in an airtight container to soften the crust. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This bread turned out well. We often buy spelt bread from the health food store for my child who is allergic to wheat. He often dislikes the store bought loaves as tough & tasteless. He devoured this bread. Sliced thin it was easy to handle, tender, and moist. Cost much less than the store bought loaves. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Celeste, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is the tastiest, moistest spelt bread I have EVER had. Better than the bakery. After reading other reviews, I put mine on the quick bread cycle, which on my machine is called the "cake" cycle for 10 minutes until it beeped and I scraped the edges down. I then realized I had probably selected the wrong cycle, and switched it to the "rapid" cycle which bakes for 1:50 minutes. This turned out a moist, beautiful loaf that could easily be mistaken for white bread, were it not for the nutty flavor of the spelt, and the sheer goodness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
The consistency was wonderful, our children gobbled up every slice quickly. Easy to make, great typical spelt taste, made a perfect slice of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! I made this recipe in my breadmaker and it turned out FANTASTIC!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe! This was so much tastier than the store bought ones, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I used honey instead of sugar. The spelt flavor is wonderful, nutty and light! I baked 1/2 a loaf in a 400 oven for 25 minutes. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent-better than any bakery/store version we've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
looks like something that would come out of me after a nice meal of taco bell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States