Spelt Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
In going wheat-free, I was looking for a spelt bread recipe that would make good toast in the morning. I found it right here! Even my husband, who is a picky eater and often rejects things after a taste, loves it. I do make a couple of substitutions to suit our needs. I use honey instead of sugar, melted organic coconut oil for the canola, powdered goat milk in water for the rice milk, and I found organic white spelt at our local co-op. Same proportions of each. This is a dense loaf that I would personally not use for a sandwich but love to eat first thing in the morning, toasted with butter or jam. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
looks like something that would come out of me after a nice meal of taco bell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is a great recipe for proportions i just upgrade the quality of ingredients to make it a super healthy bread! I use almond milk, hemp milk or coconut milk whatever i have in fridge, raw honey, unrefined salt and coconut oil! I have also started adding one egg and 1/2 tsp less yeast and that helps this bread rise really well, otherwise you often end up with a very dense loaf when using spelt. I have also used my revised recipe to make hot dog and hamburger buns!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
One of the better spelt bread recipes I've tried. I would definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent-better than any bakery/store version we've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The dough was very dry in the bread maker so I added 1 more tbs of oil, 1/4 more cup of rice milk, and 1 egg. The bread didn't have any problems with rising. :) yeah for a bread maker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I used honey instead of sugar. The spelt flavor is wonderful, nutty and light! I baked 1/2 a loaf in a 400 oven for 25 minutes. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
for some reason this didn't raise...could be my yeast...??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I make this bread a lot, but I give only 4 stars, because I think it needs more water. I always get more water for it to be right consistency. As somebody reccomended on this sit I use 1 tsp of xanthan gum. It helps too. But the taste is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This bread tastes good. However, it did not rise at all. It is very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States