Spelt Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe! This was so much tastier than the store bought ones, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This loaf felt like a brick when I pulled it out of my breadmaker! I wouldn't use this bridge for sandwiches but it was easy to slice and made lovely toast. I used 2 cups white spelt and 2 cups wholemeal spelt which may be the reason my results weren't as good as other reviewers'. I added 2 tsp bread improver and used skim milk instead of rice milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! I made this recipe in my breadmaker and it turned out FANTASTIC!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
The consistency was wonderful, our children gobbled up every slice quickly. Easy to make, great typical spelt taste, made a perfect slice of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My son is allergic to wheat and we have been struggling to find a bread he will eat. He really misses bread! This is it. He loves it and will even eat it 1-2 days later. We use almond milk(he hates rice milk) and have used honey or stevia instead of sugar. It is a heavy dense loaf, but slices nice thinly and doesn't crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I didn't have rice milk so I used skim and made it in the breadmaker. It didn't rise, but I'll experiment using my manufacturer's troubleshooting suggestions and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is the tastiest, moistest spelt bread I have EVER had. Better than the bakery. After reading other reviews, I put mine on the quick bread cycle, which on my machine is called the "cake" cycle for 10 minutes until it beeped and I scraped the edges down. I then realized I had probably selected the wrong cycle, and switched it to the "rapid" cycle which bakes for 1:50 minutes. This turned out a moist, beautiful loaf that could easily be mistaken for white bread, were it not for the nutty flavor of the spelt, and the sheer goodness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used a bread maker and mine didn't rise all that high. But maybe that's typical of spelt bread? Tasted alright though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
A nice dense loaf. I used soy milk instead of rice milk, otherwise followed recipe exactly. I'll play with this a little to try to get it to rise a little more. But excellent recipe. Kids and parents alike gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States