Spelt Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is the first spelt bread recipe I tried, and it is absolutely delicious! I just cut one loaf open to taste and cannot stop eating from it, it's that good. I made it exactly as the recipe is written, except I used 1 tablespoon honey instead of the sugar, as my daughter cannot have white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rcandeias
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Made this recipe, with a few minor modifications but the result is great. You can find my blog by googling it trie-tested-recipes-sharing this and many more recipes are there. Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcandeias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a great recipe I will be making it weekly. For me the rise time was a little long but that varies with type of yeast, and room temperature. Not only is this bread much cheaper then the store bought spelt but it hold ups much better in a sandwich. This recipe was easy to make (spelt is known to be fussy) I did substitute agave nectar for the sugar to lower the glycemic index since it is being made for a diabetic. One warning I do have for people with allergies is that spelt is a type of wheat better tolerated the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
came out not risen weell but from what I am reading about spelt is that the gluten is very fragile that I kneaded too much, I used myy kitchen aid so will try by hand and see if I can fix he heavyiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
The loaves turned out perfect. Crispy crust with soft inner core. Great the next day for sandwiches or toast. I subed White spelt, brown sugar, and organic unfiltered apple juice to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
A bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Celje, Štajerska, Slovenia
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This is GREAT - it WORKED, was easy (although it takes hours) and was yummy. Thanks very much Patsy. The outside of the loaf was all crunchy and the inside soft. By the second day the bread is not so fresh and crunchy but can be easily cut very thin and makes wonderful crispy toast. I am allergic to wheat and baking powder and this is the about the tenth recipe that I have tried and the first and only one so far that has worked - I am new to baking ! By the way my second attempt was even better than the first and rose more. I found that it was important to follow the temp guidelines and managed to keep the constant temp during rising by putting the bowl with the dough in an esky (Australian for cooler or picnic or insulated box) with a cup of boling water and thermometer. Temprature and humidity was constant. I am looking for more baking recipes to play with that do not use wheat or baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was deeelish!I used turbinado sugar instead of white. I also, mixed half and half of whole spelt and white spelt flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Very flavorful chewy bread. I used honey instead of white sugar which could account for why it didn't rise the second time as well as I would have liked, but it still came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States