Spelt Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I crack the spelt in my blendtec and also blend some almonds and water for my own almond "milk" mixture in place of milk. I think they are delish! My family loves them. I also cut the salt in half, otherwise they are pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I give this recipe four stars because I think it should be emphasized that it would be best made with unsalted butter with this amount of salt added. Otherwise, you will probably want to cut down on the salt a bit, for the sake of flavor. Also, I'm not sure that you should go through the trouble to cut these. Mine were much more like drop biscuits, and I followed the ingredients exactly. All that said, however, I really liked them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I haven't really made biscuits before, and was looking for something to have with homemade turkey soup. After reading some of the comments I made sure to use unsalted butter in the recipe and they turned out really great. The texture was perfect and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
These biscuits are great and so easy! I thought they tasted a lot like white wheat biscuits. I will be making them from now own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love these! I don't have a gluten problem, but I don't like modern wheat, which has been so altered in the past 20some years. I use regular, not light, spelt flour and sift it before measuring. I also use unsalted butter and have cut back the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The results are light, flaky biscuits. (Bob's Red Mill is a great source for spelt flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDOBOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This recipe turned out delicious. My husband said he could eat these every day and he would even give up bread if he could have these! I'm not sure if it's the kneeding that I did, but I could taste a lot of salt in some and others not so much. May recc reducing salt a tinge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was looking for a simple tasty biscuit recipe and ran across this one... I am not sure what spelt flour is so I used what I had here in the house and these were wonderful. I would make again! Quick Easy and great with gravy mmmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Used Pamela's gluten free bread mix flour instead of spelt and almond milk. Spooned them onto a sheet pan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Great and easy recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Super easy and very good recipe. I use regular AP flour because i make it in large quantities for our cafe. Also we like a sweeter biscuit to go with our gravy so I use less salt and add sugar. Even if you don't want a sweeter biscuit I would still use less salt they can be a bit salty if you don't. This one is definitely a keeper, very good biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States