Speedy Chili Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I halved this recipe because we are only two, and I only had one can of chili. After reading about the time issues some people were having, I divided the chili between two bowls and gently warmed them a little in the microwave before spreading the cornbread batter over the top, so it only took about 25 minutes to bake. I forgot to add cheese before that layer, and I think that would have improved the dish. Also, I think my cornbread layer came out too thick, like the batter would have spread better if it'd been a little thinner in consistency (maybe my egg was on the small side?). If there's a next time, I'll go with my gut and add a little more milk. I'll also try a different brand of chili, or maybe try this when I have some of my own chili leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great, easy dinner. Have made multiple times now and in order to cook all the way need to bake for 20 min, then cover with foil and bake another 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
We made it tonight and it was gone in minutes! We used only one can of chili and leftover pork from the night before. We used Marie Calendars corn muffin mix and used half for extra muffins since it made am twice as much mix as called for. Next time I will just make a double batch so the guys can take it to lunch the next day too, they were sad their were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Great go to recipe. I've already made this three times. Following other reviewers suggestions I cook for 20 minutes uncovered and 20 more minutes covered with foil. After putting the chilli in I top it with about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I've made it with turkey chilli and original chilli either way it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This made a great meal. I baked it for 20 and then 20 more with foil and it was baked perfectly. We prefer Chunky's firehouse chili and the jiffy cornbread worked great with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassanara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It was easy and tasted relatively good. However, after cooking for 25 minutes the center of the bread was not cooked (was liquid dough in the center). I covered it with aluminum foil and had to cook for another 30-40 minutes. I was frustrated with the length of time and our delayed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I really liked how easy and fast this was to make. The flavor was also very good. I have not had canned turkey chili before but found that I could barely tell he difference from the beef kind. The cooking time specified in the recipe worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Super Quick and EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is my recipe and I've made it many more times since I first submitted it. I have found that it usually takes longer to bake. Unfortunately, the inside does not cook as fast as the outside. If you bake it for 20 minutes, cover lightly with foil and bake another 20 minutes you will have a nice crust that is cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States