Spectacular Marsala Glazed Carrots with Hazelnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I really liked the concept behind this recipe, but the flavor just wasn't there. These carrots were way too sweet, and the glaze would have covered at least 2 pounds of carrots. I would have to tweak this recipe to make it something I would cook again because of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
A friend made this as a side dish for our pot luck Christmas dinner ... YUM! She used pecans instead of hazelnuts and thinly sliced onion. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Fort, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Fukuoka, Fukuoka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Yum! Cooked carrots never tasted so good. I doubled the recipe but used less butter than called for. I cooked the sauce for a good 20 minutes to try and thicken but it didn't seem to...? Didn't matter though, 100% delicious flavor. My mother didn't even want to try but I insisted... she asked for the recipe and said she doesn't like carrots but really liked these and knows she should eat them! I will keep this recipe for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Used carrots chopped into medallions. Also used vegan margarine instead of butter. Oh, and used pecans instead of hazelnuts (as mentioned by another reviewer) as I couldn't find hazelnuts at the store (didn't look terribly hard though). As a few have mentioned, the marsala mix wasn't really a glaze as much as a sauce. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
LOVE THIS! I made it for Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a big hit. I was skeptical while I was cooking the sauce, but once I tasted it, I knew I had a winner. I used sliced almonds instead of hazelnuts. Delicious, will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This is an excellent, easy recipe. In halving the recipe for two, one shallot was a bit much. I might even reduce to 1/2 a shallot when splitting the recipe. Overall though, just yummy. Might even be good with fresh, frenched green beans - not overly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I loved this! Best carrot recipe I've ever had. I substituted splenda for the sugar. I didn't measure the water either..just covered the carrots with water since they were going to be drained anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was delish! I didn't have hazelnuts but will get them for next time because I love them, but pecans worked well. I also didn't have shallots so I used vidalia onion with a touch of garlic minced together and that worked out fine. Didn't have unsalted, so I used salted butter. There is a lot of sauce and I though about cutting back on those ingredients next time, but it coats the carrots well this way. All those little chunks soaking up that heavenly sauce. In any case, no complaints, I will be making this alot! Oh yeah.. This says it serves 6. I think that's being conservative, realistically it's more like 4 servings. DH and I ate at LEAST half of this, (1 regular serving each)in one sitting. Total Yumfort Food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Barbara, we thought your recipe was fabulous! Everyone went back for seconds and thirds and just raved. The only thing I did differently was to use brown sugar instead of white and altho I didn't read it until now, I'm loving another reviewers suggestion of adding a bit of heat. Next time for sure. Thank you again Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Nice!!! Leave it simmering long enough and the sauce will get nice and siruppy. Add some turkish pepper flakes (or red chili flakes) to the sauce, and... kapow!! NICEEEE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States