Spectacular Marsala Glazed Carrots with Hazelnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I first made this recipe as written and found it to be a little too sweet. The second time I made it I used 1/4 cup of sugar and squeezed 1/2 an orange in the glaze instead and it was delicious. I am going to substitute slivered almonds and brown sugar in this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Amazing carrots! They were my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal. I will make these all the time now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This dish was simply delicious and a huge hit this Thanksgiving. I logged on today so that I could pass the recipe on to friends that asked for it after trying it last night! I did make a couple of minor (& accidental) changes: I used a semi-sweet Marsala instead of dry and vidalia onions with a smidgen of garlic powder instead of shallots. A dry Marsala would have been better but semi-sweet didn't take away from the dish. My only complaint is the dish is more labor intensive that I'd prefer for a big holiday. Nevertheless, I look forward to making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The first time I made these I ate the entire batch myself! The trick is to get all of the alcohol to cook off or else they are less than spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My wife and I loved this recipe. Certainly a change from the typical butter and brown sugar routine. The Marsala Wine is what makes this recipe what it is. Do not skip it as the description states. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve379

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madelia, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Used carrots chopped into medallions. Also used vegan margarine instead of butter. Oh, and used pecans instead of hazelnuts (as mentioned by another reviewer) as I couldn't find hazelnuts at the store (didn't look terribly hard though). As a few have mentioned, the marsala mix wasn't really a glaze as much as a sauce. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was....ok. Good but not great. I was excited to try this recipe but the glaze would not get to a glazing consistancy. Too liquid. And the flavor was not exciting. Sorry... not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Unbelievably delicious! I used toasted almonds and Chambord (Raspberry liquor) instead of hazelnuts and Marsala. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
We didn't care for the sweeter spin on the carrots. They were pretty, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Served this at Thanksgiving and both guests asked for the recipe. Super easy to prepare and the taste was great. Watch for the hazelnuts when toasting. I liked the sweet and crunchy texture and the Marsala adds a perfect amount of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States