Spectacular Marsala Glazed Carrots with Hazelnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought these were delicious! I used regular carrots and cut them into "halved baby carrot" size, and I used salted butter so omitted the salt. My hazelnuts turned out to be old, so I used chopped toasted pecans. AND I reached for the marsala and we were out! So I used sherry. In spite of all of that, it was a great veggie dish, marsala is on my grocery list, and I'll make it again! Thanks so much, Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I really liked the concept behind this recipe, but the flavor just wasn't there. These carrots were way too sweet, and the glaze would have covered at least 2 pounds of carrots. I would have to tweak this recipe to make it something I would cook again because of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is one of the best carrot recipes I have ever tried. I took these to dinner at my in-laws' house. My father-in-law hates carrots, but he loved the hazelnuts. My mother-in-law hates nuts, but she loved the carrots. Every one else ate them together and loved them. The hazelnuts took longer to roast than the recipe indicated, but I started them early enough that it wasn't a problem. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made these carrots last Christmas, and my family all raved about them. My husband said they were the best carrots he has ever tasted. They were different from most other carrot side dishes I've tried -- the hazelnuts worked great with the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great flavor! Best carrot dish I've had, yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was ok - would make again, but will not "crave".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was very good but my sauce was very thin - next time I will add cornstach and water to the sauce and let it thicken before adding the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
These were dreamy, plus the presentation is very nice and the tastes a unique combo. Nice for a fancy dinner at home, but a great compliment to a regular dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've never had Marsala wine before and wanted to try it. Guess my family and I don't care for it. I thought it was ok, a bit on the heavy side with the Marsala wine taste. The toasted hazelnuts did add a nice flavor to it though, but I don't think I'll be making this dish again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was delish! I didn't have hazelnuts but will get them for next time because I love them, but pecans worked well. I also didn't have shallots so I used vidalia onion with a touch of garlic minced together and that worked out fine. Didn't have unsalted, so I used salted butter. There is a lot of sauce and I though about cutting back on those ingredients next time, but it coats the carrots well this way. All those little chunks soaking up that heavenly sauce. In any case, no complaints, I will be making this alot! Oh yeah.. This says it serves 6. I think that's being conservative, realistically it's more like 4 servings. DH and I ate at LEAST half of this, (1 regular serving each)in one sitting. Total Yumfort Food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States