Special Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great base recipe and I say so because it's versatile. I added a few things and less of others!!!! I added some turkey trimmings and bell seasoning, I used chicken stock since I don't have turkey stock on hand!!! I omitted the water and added more turkey drippings and added more flour as I needed more gravy for my recipe!!!! Thanks SassyCassyMommy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made exactly as directed and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe is 5 stars because it's EASY and DELICIOUS!!! We roasted our turkey with onion and celery chunks underneath, so it was in the turkey stock. I buzzed up the onion and celery chunks before adding them to the saucepan. I followed the recipe except for adding the water and the celery salt (didn't have it ). I've been eating gravy other people have made for Thanksgiving and Christmas for as long as I can remember. This was my first attempt and it was just good if not better than the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my first even attempt at making gravy and it turned out wonderfully! I didn't have celery salt so I used celery seed instead and I used chicken stock instead of turkey stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kilikena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I'm rating my modification as 5 stars. This is what I did. Instead of turkey stock I used 2 cans of vegetable broth (~15 oz). We didn't use any water, salt, pepper, or celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very Yummy! I used chicken stock, as well, because it was what I had on hand. This will be my go-to gravy recipe for turkey gravy next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious and easy. I made exactly as written, except that I used Campbell's low sodium chicken stock instead of turkey stock and didn't add any water. I might try to make it slightly thicker next time by adding a bit less stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am using this recipe again this Thanksgiving and realized I haven't raved about it! My bad! I make this exactly as it says. I use the drippings inside the turkey and add a little water as "stalk" because it's Thanksgiving....the only day eating such horrendously fattening delight is socially acceptable and by god it comes out amazing! Use this recipe and then ruuuuun like Forrest because a moment on the lips is a lifetime on the hips people ;) ::please forgive the random ramble. I'm taking a break from baking and I don't want to go back::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Easy, delicious. Couldn't ask for better. A true keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Best success I've ever had with making gravy!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States