Special Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great base recipe and I say so because it's versatile. I added a few things and less of others!!!! I added some turkey trimmings and bell seasoning, I used chicken stock since I don't have turkey stock on hand!!! I omitted the water and added more turkey drippings and added more flour as I needed more gravy for my recipe!!!! Thanks SassyCassyMommy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very Yummy! I used chicken stock, as well, because it was what I had on hand. This will be my go-to gravy recipe for turkey gravy next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Kemper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made exactly as directed and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my first even attempt at making gravy and it turned out wonderfully! I didn't have celery salt so I used celery seed instead and I used chicken stock instead of turkey stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kilikena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I'm rating my modification as 5 stars. This is what I did. Instead of turkey stock I used 2 cans of vegetable broth (~15 oz). We didn't use any water, salt, pepper, or celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe is 5 stars because it's EASY and DELICIOUS!!! We roasted our turkey with onion and celery chunks underneath, so it was in the turkey stock. I buzzed up the onion and celery chunks before adding them to the saucepan. I followed the recipe except for adding the water and the celery salt (didn't have it ). I've been eating gravy other people have made for Thanksgiving and Christmas for as long as I can remember. This was my first attempt and it was just good if not better than the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious and easy. I made exactly as written, except that I used Campbell's low sodium chicken stock instead of turkey stock and didn't add any water. I might try to make it slightly thicker next time by adding a bit less stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Pretty good. I used mostly the drippings from the turkey and a little bit of stock. I think the amount of gravy doesn't make enough for 20 and I needed to use lots of corn starch to get it to thicken it up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am using this recipe again this Thanksgiving and realized I haven't raved about it! My bad! I make this exactly as it says. I use the drippings inside the turkey and add a little water as "stalk" because it's Thanksgiving....the only day eating such horrendously fattening delight is socially acceptable and by god it comes out amazing! Use this recipe and then ruuuuun like Forrest because a moment on the lips is a lifetime on the hips people ;) ::please forgive the random ramble. I'm taking a break from baking and I don't want to go back::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I typically go to much more trouble in making my gravy, and after using this recipe I understand why. Though it is easy, even with the turkey drippings and an excellent homemade turkey stock this gravy was just OK, not "special" by any means. Sometimes the extra time and work really is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States