Special Occasion Stuffed Crown Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I took the advice of Janice and substituted 2 1/2 cups of whole cranberry sauce for the cranberries, apple juice and sugar. I also toasted the bread before cubing. The dressing was the absolute best. It has the traditional taste with a twist. The whole cranberries gave a very festive look to it. The meat was flavorful but a little dry. Still good. Rating the dressing alone would have been 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
It was a little dry. We baked it at 375 for 1 hour and then lowered the temp. to 325. Also the stuffing was to moist. Maybe if we didn't use fresh bread cubes or left out the apple juice it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I'm rating this mostly for the stuffing. It was beautiful and tasted wonderful. I used about 3 cups of whole fresh cranberries. My 9.5 lb. crown's center was not open enough to stuff so I made it as a dressing. This was my first crown pork. I decided to roast it under a foil tent, crown down at 325. After 3 hours, I turned it crown side up and covered the bone ends with foil. I had to kick the heat up to 350 and it had to continue cooking for two more hours to reach 160 (before resting). The next time, I will begin it at 350, then down to 325. This is not your ordinary pork chop dinner. The meat was succulent and the stuffing festive and delicious. Thanks for all the raves this fabulous meal got for me. As for cooking temps, I always have success with a slower roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
The dressing recipe here was good. I have always loved roast pork and crown roasts for the festivity of it. As I read the recipe, it seemed 375 degrees was a high temperature for cooking meat. I cooked it for the exact amount of time since I did not have a meat thermometer. My roast was 10 lbs and it still came out quite dry. My oven has an accurate temperature for baking. Next time I will cook it at the high temperature the first hour and then reduce the heat to 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I don't cook much and this was so easy. We made this for Christmas Day and it was a huge hit. It looked impressive and it tasted fantastic. I did omit the sugar and used canned whole cranberry sauce instead (as suggested by another reviewer). It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
We had this for Christmas dinner. It turned out ok! None of us had ever had crown roast before, so didn't know quite what to expect. We did cover it while cooking (my mom refuses not to). The stuffing was different, but in a good way! I'd never had a sweeter stuffing before, and it was a nice change. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is a real crowd pleaser. I added 2 1/2 cups of the whole cranberry sauce instead of the cranberries, apple juice and sugar. The dressing was delicious. I used a rub of sage, rosemary, salt, garlic, shallots and olive oil on the roast. The house smelled great! My roast didn't take as long to cook either, at 7.75 pounds, but I was keeping an eye out, so it turned out moist and tender. I laid some apples cut in half on the rack with the roast when cooking, and put them on the outside of the platter when serving. Made quite the presentation, bone booties and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
The turkey turned out perfectly. Works even better with a chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Great Recipe. Stuff was just a tad too sweet, would eliminate some sugar next time. With fresh bread, egg isn't needed. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
One Rib per person was fine, Delete the egg and apple juice in the stuffing if the bread crumbs are fresh. I found the roast overcooked when it reached 175 internal temperature. Next time I would take it out at 155-160 and let it rest for 15 minutes. The temperature should go up 5 degrees in resting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States