Special Occasion Stuffed Crown Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this last night for a new year's dinner for family - 10 people. My roast was 8.75 pounds. Although a frequent entertainer/cook, I have never made crown roast or any other type of pork - just hadn't but now wanted to try something new. I didn't like the stuffing; followed the recipe to the letter but I did not like the sweet flavor. Husband hated it - very opinionated though. No one else said much. On the roast itself, I didn't trust my meat thermometer. My oven is electric and runs hot, but, within 15 mintes of returning the roast to the oven, the therm said 160. I placed it in different locations, and it quickly reached 160 but didn't go above. I kept it in for about another 45-60 minutes total as I was concerned that the recipe for a smaller roast (7 lbs) said about another 1.5 hour was required. In any case, long story not so short, I found it dry and didn't finish it - no one really did. My teenage nephews will eat car parts but they weren't to into it. Luckily I smothered everyone with appetizers galore so at least no one went hungry. So that is my story - take from it what you will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Made this for our Christmas dinner as one of our guests didn't like turkey. Great recipe, and great stuffing. Almost like having the turkey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Patterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for Christmas Dinner. It was easy and very tasty I really impressed the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was very good. Something different for Christmas besides turkey, and let me tell what a welcome change. The pork was not dry and the stuffing was not too sweet. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I did not get a chance to make the roast, this rating is only for the stuffing. It was fantastic! I made it as directed and everyone raved. It was not too sweet, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I did not make the stuffing for this roast, however I followed the cooking method (rib ends down to start with.....I was VERY skeptically) when I cooked my first crown roast. It was BEYOND amazing. I cannot believe I was too intimidated to try one of these for so long....and yes, it can be pricey for a single piece of meat, but per person, it is quite reasonable. I followed other reviewers who said I should only allow the internal temp to reach 155-160 before removing, and it was perfectly cooked. I also made a light sauce to go with. I sauted shitaki mushrooms, then used the liquid that cooked out of the mushrooms to add to a tbsp of butter & flour to make a light roux. After a could minutes, I added a cup of chicken stock, 2 tbsp balsalmic vinegar & about 1/4 cup of drippings from the roast & salt/pepper to taste. It was wonderful!!! It was one of the best pieces of meat I ever tasted.....and I MADE IT! Thank you so much for teaching me how to do it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made it tonight for my husband's birthday. I replaced the sugar with cranberry sauce as suggested by others. It was an amazing dish. The meat was moist and the stuffing was out of this world. I took it out of the oven when the meat reached 170 degrees - I was worried about drying it out but it was perfect. It is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Redhead711
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I had great success with this recipe I used 2.5 cups of ocean spray cranberry sauce instead of the sugar, whole cranberrys and egg as suggested by other reviewers. The stuffing came out marvelous a real complement to the pork. The roast was moist and delicious I rubbed garlic, rosemary, thyme, and sage on it during the cooking it smelled wonderful. Thanks for the recipe I will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Pork can sometimes be too dry, but not with this recipe! Looks gorgeous as a centrpiece for a dinner party. Really had to keep an eye on it while cooking so it didn't brown too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I, too, am rating this for the stuffing which was TOTALLY awesome and made my whole Christmas dinner Very Special. I love it. I made a yield for 4 and stuffed a roaster chicken (3 lbs) and also put some in a loaf pan because there was so much. I am so glad I did because the smells and tastes were out-of-this-world! I didn't use any egg and substituted a simplified type of wassail (read - I didn't have all the spices!! 8-) for the juice. After a while I had to re-moisten the stuffing, so I used chicken broth. The apple chunks were super with the peel on. It was even better (if that's possible) the next day. THX!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States