Special Occasion Stuffed Crown Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Made this for our Christmas dinner as one of our guests didn't like turkey. Great recipe, and great stuffing. Almost like having the turkey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for Christmas Dinner. It was easy and very tasty I really impressed the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was very good. Something different for Christmas besides turkey, and let me tell what a welcome change. The pork was not dry and the stuffing was not too sweet. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I did not get a chance to make the roast, this rating is only for the stuffing. It was fantastic! I made it as directed and everyone raved. It was not too sweet, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I did not make the stuffing for this roast, however I followed the cooking method (rib ends down to start with.....I was VERY skeptically) when I cooked my first crown roast. It was BEYOND amazing. I cannot believe I was too intimidated to try one of these for so long....and yes, it can be pricey for a single piece of meat, but per person, it is quite reasonable. I followed other reviewers who said I should only allow the internal temp to reach 155-160 before removing, and it was perfectly cooked. I also made a light sauce to go with. I sauted shitaki mushrooms, then used the liquid that cooked out of the mushrooms to add to a tbsp of butter & flour to make a light roux. After a could minutes, I added a cup of chicken stock, 2 tbsp balsalmic vinegar & about 1/4 cup of drippings from the roast & salt/pepper to taste. It was wonderful!!! It was one of the best pieces of meat I ever tasted.....and I MADE IT! Thank you so much for teaching me how to do it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made it tonight for my husband's birthday. I replaced the sugar with cranberry sauce as suggested by others. It was an amazing dish. The meat was moist and the stuffing was out of this world. I took it out of the oven when the meat reached 170 degrees - I was worried about drying it out but it was perfect. It is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Redhead711
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I had great success with this recipe I used 2.5 cups of ocean spray cranberry sauce instead of the sugar, whole cranberrys and egg as suggested by other reviewers. The stuffing came out marvelous a real complement to the pork. The roast was moist and delicious I rubbed garlic, rosemary, thyme, and sage on it during the cooking it smelled wonderful. Thanks for the recipe I will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Pork can sometimes be too dry, but not with this recipe! Looks gorgeous as a centrpiece for a dinner party. Really had to keep an eye on it while cooking so it didn't brown too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I, too, am rating this for the stuffing which was TOTALLY awesome and made my whole Christmas dinner Very Special. I love it. I made a yield for 4 and stuffed a roaster chicken (3 lbs) and also put some in a loaf pan because there was so much. I am so glad I did because the smells and tastes were out-of-this-world! I didn't use any egg and substituted a simplified type of wassail (read - I didn't have all the spices!! 8-) for the juice. After a while I had to re-moisten the stuffing, so I used chicken broth. The apple chunks were super with the peel on. It was even better (if that's possible) the next day. THX!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this for two different holiday parties, complete with white paper "booties", and it was a hit both times! I used a bag of stuffing to save time and needed to add more apple juice to make it moist enough. I used the fresh chopped cranberries, but saved about 1/3 of the bag and cooked them down with sugar to make a small dish of relish to accompany the meat. I cooked the roast at 325 and it turned out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States