Special Occasion Stuffed Crown Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A tip when roasting this Crown pork roast try putting an empty coffee can in the middle hole. for the entire cooking time. This will hold the meat's shape and allow a balanced cooking temperature transfer. then add your stuffing or mashed potatoes when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great recipe. If you want to keep the crown form before adding the stuffing, you can insert a large apple in the middle. The apple will help keep the form and add delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
WOW! This crown roast was delish! It was not an easy recipe but well worth the effort. Only minor tweaks.....we used fresh apple cider (AND 2 times the amount called for.....stuffing because we used dried bread crumbs instead of fresh) and added 1/2 cup of finely chopped pecans. We followed the rest of the recipes and loved this roast. The only thing we will do is take the roast out a bit earlier....it was almost too dry. And the roast was amazing the next day too! We have a new Christmas dinner tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a good recipe. The stuffing is great. The roast I guess depends on your butcher. My butcher did not do a good job at all. No room to stuff it and meat was tough. I cooked it just as directed. I think it was the roast it's self that caused it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clydyboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
What an amazingly simple dish! The pork was fantastic, and the stuffing was a hit at my Christmas Eve dinner. My 12 rib, 7 lb roast took approx 2.5 hours to cook at 350, so it was done earlier than I expected. I wrapped it in foil and kept it in the warming drawer, but unfortunately, it got a little drier than I would have liked. It was still great though. Since this was my first time making a crown roast, I wasn't sure on the cooking time - now I know for next time. I couldn't fit very much stuffing inside my crown roast, so I cooked it in dish and it was fantastic - everyone loved it. I made a separate portion of stuffing for myself that was dairy and soy free, so instead of butter, I sauteed the onion and celery in a little olive oil. Then I added extra apple juice to make up for the missing liquid. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used this recipe for my first crown roast for Christmas of 09. It was fantastic! Everything about it was perfect. Im coming to this recipe again for stuffing for the Thanksgiving bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
As suggested by others, I used 2 cups of whole canned cranberries, no sugar and no egg. However I did add the apple juice and found the stuffing too wet, but still tasted amazing. My family all loved it and wanted to take the leftovers home. Next time I won't add any apple juice. I also cooked this recipe in a dish and not in the middle of my pork roast and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The pork was incredibly dry and took much longer to cook than expected. The dressing was alright... it had a thanksgiving sort of feel. I won't cook it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My first time making this type of roast. WONDERFUL! I used dried crandberries in dressing and it was wonderful. The middle of the roast wasn't large enough to hold much stuffing, so I added more apple juice and baked it for about 20 minutes by itself. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Tried this recipe for the first crown roast I've ever made. The meat was a little dry but otherwise this turned out great. Next time we will not cook it quite so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAHM of 9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimball, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States