Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I followed all the steps but made some ingredient substitutions. Since this was spur of the moment craving, I used shrimp instead of lobster and shallots instead of onion. I omited the cream at the end as I thought it was rich enough. my husband loved it! I loved it! I'm looking to try it with lobster as I'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Delicious! We grilled small lobster tails to get the lobster meat for this soup, served with our grilled steaks for a gourmet meal! I used heavy cream and it was extra decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this tonight and my family licked the pot clean! Yummy! I did make a few changes, based on what I had and other suggestions in reviews. I had surimi in the fridge, so I used that instead of lobster. I added a few dashes of hot sauce, a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce, replaced the onion with onion powder, and added just enough red wine vinegar at the end to add a little bite (white wine or sherry would probably be better for this, but I didn't have any and the vinegar worked well). This was a huge hit! It will go into my rotation, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
great on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It's very good but I wold of liked more of a seafood taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meaghan
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This bisque was amazing!!!! Definitely restaurant quality. I followed recipe amounts exactly and added a bay leaf - excellent! I also sauteed the onions in the butter in the beginning instead of adding them in with the lobster at the end. Honestly, this recipe needs no doctoring. It's creamy and wonderful! My whole family loved it :) Thanks, Tara Edwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Tremendous recipient that turned out very well. I can't think if a way to improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Snowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was a very good recipe, I also boiled the shells in the milk beforehand. After the bisque was finished I used this to make lobster pot pie, which was really good. All I had to was roll flat pillsbury grands and push into a pie pan I baked that for about 10 mins pushed it flat in the pan again and poured the bisque in. I covered the pie with another layer of biscuit dough and baked for another 10-15 minutes. The biscuit dough was too fluffy to make multiple smaller portions in a muffin pan. Next time I would probably try in with regular pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Wonderful! I looked at the reviews and made some very slight changes based on them. I halved the recipe so my measurements will reflect that. I made my own lobster broth with the tail shells (added a bay leaf to the broth). I used skim milk and 1/2 and 1/2 for the 1/4 C at the end. It was still SUPER rich! I used 2 lobster tails which provided plenty of meat. My husband LOVED it and ate the whole thing. I got a teeny bowl which was fine because it was so rich. Great recipe and EASY to make! I think I would add some garlic and maybe even a little tarragon or something next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chihuahualover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was my first attempt to ever make a bisque. The only things I did differently, based on other reviews, was 1-I used half and half 2- I put about 2tsp tomato paste. Also, since I was using lobster tail to make this, I boiled the tails, took the meat out and put it aside. Using the same water I boiled them in, I put the lobster shells, I put in some Cajun spices, some garlic and thyme, and sage. I let it slow boil while I did all the steps to make the bisque. I strained the water when it came time to add the chicken stock, but instead I added the lobster stock I just made (it did reduce to half). We LOVED this recipe, I made it for valentines day, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States