Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Only giving 4 stars because I added a ton of extras that were suggested in the reviews below, such as some bay leaves, white wine, garlic salt, minced garlic, red cayenne, can of tomato paste, and extra pepper. This, being my first time ever making a lobster bisque, found so many different variations online - and I was looking for one that was easier rather than complex. This was the perfect inbetween of everything. It was very, VERY easy to make and so filling and enjoyable! I have left overs that I can't wait to rush home from work to get to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used half n half instead of milk. And I cut the milk to 3 cups and added 1 cup of sherry. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
We had this for our 2012 Christmas dinner. We loved our own tweaked version. I had never made this dish before so this recipe was most helpful.With alldue respect I totally revamped the recipe. In place of the chicken broth I use a vegetable and a chicken Flavor Booster (by Swanson). I also used a heaping half cup of flour. I used no salt celery or regular. Instead of milk I used 1 quart fat free half and half and the near the endI used 4 seafood flavor booster packets.Paprika made the difference. Also added of original Mrs. Dash. It was unamiously declared divine. Our two year old granddaughter ate an entire bowl. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Gourmet restaurant quality, absolutely perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a good recipe... I did however change things up and used shrimp instead of lobster.... Still delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ardmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolli072
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Deliciousness! Loved the flavour, and it was a great way to use up leftover lobster that I had. Only thing I may change would be to purée the onions to add to the bisque. It would make the texture a bit more creamy. Lovely recipe! Thank you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolli072

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I have not made this yet but perhaps what is missing is a hint of sherry which I have had in most seafood bisques. Got this hint from a pub that makes fresh lobster bisque daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was very tasty and easy to make! I made one minor change, and that was to add one chopped clove of garlic to the butter at the beginning. I would highly recommend this recipe (with the garlic added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made this soup several times. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. I am giving it five stars because of how easy it is to make. My husband, the bisque snob said it was missing something, but it was still good. The last time I made it I think I got it right. I used fish stock instead of chicken stock, left out the cream, added tarragon, a pinch of cayenne pepper, and sherry. I also added a bit of lumb crab meat. It tasted GREAT, and got RAVE reviews at a family dinner. I have also made this recipe leaving out the cream and using lactose-free milk. It was a treat for people who can't normally eat bisque without suffering an upset (lactose intolerant) stomach. The Lactaid milk seemed to have made it taste kind of "sweet, but I added a bit more cayenne and it was still terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States