Special K Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have fond memories of these cookies from the bakery in the Indiana University Student Union back in the late 70's and couldn't believe that possibly it was the same cookie! It is! I used 5 cups of cereal instead of 4 to get it to the consistency I remember and they are terrific! I also used 2 tsp. of vanilla and made them on the stove instead of microwave. Once the sugar and syrup boiled for about one minute, I added vanilla and pb and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I am a gastric bypass patient so I needed to make these sugar free. I used Splenda in place of the sugar, sf syrup for the corn syrup, natural peanut butter, and Special K Protein Plus for the cereal. Very easy and turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISFEMIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These are fantastic!! Great as bars too! I usually spread the mix into a cake pan and pour melted semi-sweet chocolate chips over it. Then drop melted butterscotch chips and swirl into the chocolate and let harden. Cut into squares and serve, FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These are my favorite treat! I have used an array of cereals for this recipe but have found that Golden Grahams are my ultimate favorite in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dano.cait
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were so easy to make and delicious! Having made rice krispies the same way, the key is to not over cook your syrup and sugar! Over cooking leads to rock hard cookies! I added another cup of cereal to get a better consistency and some small semi sweet chocolate chips (about a cup). For cook timing, I used my 700W microwave and only cooked the mixture for 2 minutes. Keep in mind that if you can do this quickly the mixture won't be too hard to stir together and much easier to spoon out onto your wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dano.cait
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very Good. I remember these from when I went to Indiana University in Bloomington and would get them at the Student Union between classes. They taste better if you add 1/2 cup more cereal. Make sure you use good quality peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
My grandmother used to make this, our family was surprised when I made it... we love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Literally could not bite into these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was very quick and easy and could be made with ingredients I had on hand. I used the Special K with Chocolate. These are good, but almost too sweet. I used low fat peanut butter, and will use splenda next time, just to make it a little more diet friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made mine on the stovetop (only simmered it for 2 minutes) and threw in some chocolate chips at the last minute and they were fabulous! Love how crunchy they were and that there was no a lot of saturated fat yet felt very sinful thanks to all the sugar. Big hit with friends too. A great summer treat that really feeds a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States