Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I scaled this recipe for 12 and put it into a roaster in the oven at 325 for 2 hours and warmed it up the following day for another hour. It did not need cornstarch for thickening as it thickened on its own. I reduced the carrots to 4C, reduced the tomato paste to 1 1/2 cans, and increased the beef by a pound. I added a few more potatoes and a small spoonful of brown sugar. My family raved about it. It was a very pretty dish and exceptional in flavor. The beef was extremely tender. I am sharing it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
DO NOT USE GUINESS EXTRA STOUT. I made the mistake of allowing my husband to pick up the beer and the Extra Stout makes the sauce way too bitter. I really want to try this with the regular Guinness next time. However, to fix this I increased the amount of broth and sprinkled in about a tablespoon of sugar and in order to counteract the bitterness. It's a very thick, hearty stew and reall pretty simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made this but used a crock pot - cooked it most of the day. Served it to a table of hungry poker players and there was barely enough left to soak a piece of bread. good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kray
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I really like the taste of this stew. It has a different flavor than the stews most of us are used to so this may not taste good to everyone. For me it was nice to taste something different, especially when it tastes good. I did take heed to other reviewers comments and added and subtracted some things to make the taste more "palatable", but nothing that would turn it into a different recipe. It still has that "special" taste which comes from the beer. NOTE: I doubled the recipe. I used 9 cloves of garlic 3 large potatoes, almost 4 lbs of stew meat, 3/4 of a 2lb bag of baby carrots (cause I didn't want to cut carrots), 2 small onions, 2 12oz bottles of Guinness, as much oil and flour as needed to brown the meat, 2 6oz cans of tomato paste, 3 cups of Mushrooms and 4 cups of beef broth. ADDED: My additions were a result of reading the reviews. I added twice the meat and more potatoes than carrots. I added sea salt and pepper to the flour that I used to brown the meat. I have found in my limited cooking experience that seasoning meat before it is cooked is never a bad idea. I also added a little sea salt to the stew. To bring in a familiar taste, a little thyme, a little basil and a couple of bay leaves. To curb the bitterness of the Guinness, two teaspoons of brown sugar. SUBTRACTED: Corn starch and water as I had planned to cook it all day and others mentioned that the sauce would reduce/thicken over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tularosa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My family and I loved this stew!! It's thick and very filling I didn't have a stout beer on hand- so I used a lager.It was good, but I think I'd like stout a bit more so, next time I will definitely use a Guinness and a bit of sugar. I also added rosemary, thyme, basil, sea salt and pepper. I think that the spices added just a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
very good. my only complaint is I followed the recipe but it never said when to add the garlic? I ended up adding it at the end when I found it was the only ingredient left. It probably needed to be added with the onions to bring out the full flavor. I used Killians beer and did add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a great beef stew, I love the deep flavor the beer gives to it (I used Guinness). I'm not a big fan of tomato flavor in my stew so I left out the tomato paste. Also left out the mushrooms since I don't like them, and didn't use nearly as many carrots. Overall, this is probably my favorite beef stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was a hit in my house. I did add a spoon of sugar to take away some bitterness. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I thought this stew was way too tomato-ey. It just tasted like bitter tomatoes. It would've been better with just beef broth and the beer. We threw the leftovers away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
The recipe was very easy to make, but not salty enough and a little too bitter from the beer (my kids who will eat almost anything didn't like it). I'll probably try the recipe again, but add some salt and reduce the beer a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States