Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this Irish Stew for St. Patricks Day and it was a HIT!! My husband and I Loved it and i brought some leftovers to my parents and they Loved it as well! I added dumplings to mine for the last 15 mins, they were absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was great, but I had to make a couple of changes (had ideas from another very similar recipe) to make it more flavorful. First, toss the beef in 3/4 tsp. pepper and 1 1/2 tsp. salt before cooking it. Use 1 Tbl. olive oil instead of 2 tsp. vegetable oil, and add a bay leaf to the onions, garlic, and mushrooms, cook until onions are wilted (not brown), THEN add the beef and brown it. Pour the beer over the tomato paste in a small bowl, let the foam subside, stir well, THEN add it to the beef mixture (no beef broth needed at all). Cover and simmer for 15 minutes, THEN add potato wedges (not diced - or they get too mushy) and baby carrots. Continue cooking for 45 minutes. Follow the cornstarch step as written. Perfect! Now I have the recipe online. Thanks for sharing yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I used Guiness Extra Stout and ruined this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My first attempt at stew and this receipe was great! Easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Amboy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
very good - maybe use less guinness or add a little salt/seasoning next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I did not care for this recipe, because I didn't like the taste of the guinness beer. It was bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I thought that the stew needed additional liquid so I added at least 2 cups of water.Also, the recipe doesn't state when you should add the garlic-so I added 4 cloves of minced garilc after the onions and mushrooms were tender-as not to burn the garlic! The next time I make this stew, I will make it ahead of time! It was much taster the next day at lunch! The beer taste mellowed out a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Kim, I'm sure this recipe as written deserves 5 stars, but since I changed and omited some of the ingredients, I gave it 4. First, I agree with other reviewers who say they think 'Irish Stew' is always made with lamb, so I used 1 lb lamb being as I was preparing to serve 4. I did not use any beer as I did not have any, but did increase the beef broth and when it was done, it did not need cornstarch. Also, I think the broth, even though low sodium, had just the right flavor so that additional salt was not needed or used. I have always made 'Beef Stew' but without any type of tomato added for that flavor. I do intend to try your recipe with the beef just as written, as using it as a base for the Lamb Stew was so delicious we know it will be worth the try and by the way, this is very easy to prepare, which I appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Made as written - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was a disaster! I followed the recipe to the letter (except for using extra stour which I'll talk about in a moment). The vegetables did NOT get done after an hour of simemring like the recipe said to do.Prep Time is WAY over twenty minutes unless you buy vegetables that are already prewashed and precut. And...someone else warned on here about using Guiness Extra Stout --- I repeat the warning - DO NOT USE GUINESS EXTRA STOUT. Horrid, horrid bitter taste if you do!!!! Really awful and brown sugar did NOT help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States