Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe! The recipe is perfect the way it is, but I don't add an entire bottle of Guiness. I start with half of a bottle and then add more as needed after the stew has had time to cook. I've done this on the stove and in the crockpot. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that my potatoes and carrots seem to always be hard even though I cook it at least twice as long as the recipe calls for. Next time I'll boil the potatoes and carrots for a bit before adding them to the stew. We also serve it over a bit of white rice. A yummy Irish stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriireland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My boyfriend and I lived this recipe. I added peas, thyme, a dash if ground cloves, 2 bay leaves, salt and pepper to taste, some worchestershire and red wine. It was awesome for a cool winter's night. Can't wait to bring it for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I tried this at home but i made a few substitutes. Not big on shrooms, so i added a can of corn. Also, i made 16 servings, i added 3 12oz Guiness beers plus a cup of red wine. I can actually say it turn out better than ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Hearty stew, hence the one star. However, it was horribly bland. As you can see in the recipe, there are no spices in this, and you can really notice it in the flavor (or lack thereof...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this exactly as written using Guiness Draught. It came out good but both my husband and I agreed that it is a little too tomatoey and it overpowered the flavor of the beer. Next time, a little less tomato paste and more beer. Also, I used London Broil as recommended by the meat dept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious. I was tempted to make it my own by adding other veggies but it truly doesn't need anything else. The gravy in this stew is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
It's so good. I still haven't figured out exactly the right balance of herbs for my taste, but it's still a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was an excellent stew! I made a double batch since I was serving 12 (mostly hungry young boys) and I still had a good bit of leftovers. I served it with from-scratch cornbread and fruit salad. Everyone loved it. My changes: I used only one can of tomato paste (all I had), added a handfull of chopped fresh basil, a tablespoon of sugar and a can of stewed tomatoes. The cornstarch was not needed so I didn't use it. I also accidentally used Guinness Draught beer instead of the stout. Oops. It smelled marvelous while it was cooking but I didn't taste the beer as strong as I thought I would. Next time I'll make sure to use a stout. My only complaint is that it wasn't near salty enough. A salt shaker at the table fixed that. ;) Next time I'll salt and pepper the stew before simmering. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a great stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I would give my final stew a 5, but the recipe only a 4 because I think it would have really been lacking flavor without some of my changes. I didn't use mushrooms (don't like them) but I did add turnips. I did as someone else suggested and I did potato wedges instead of cubes - not sure it mattered at all. I used Guinness Draught and only used about 10 oz as some people said the flavor was too much - next time I'll add the whole can (mine was a tall can that was 14.9 ounces) cuz the flavor was great from the beer. I added about 1.5 tsp of thyme and 3 bay leaves and kept adding salt and pepper to my liking. I think next time I won't saute the onions with the meat cuz they basically disintigrated in the crockpot. I did cook it on high for about 5.5 hours - next time I'll turn it down to low after a couple hours or cook on low for 7-8 but the meat was perfectly tender. I also meant to add peas at the end but forgot. I will definitely make this again with my adjustments. Family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States