Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this almost exactly as it is stated. I used Killians Red because I was afraid if I used stout, it would be too bitter. It definately needs salt. I would start with 2 teaspoons and go from there as you're cooking. I also added a teaspoon of basil, oregano, thyme, and two bay leaves. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was good. I used a dark ale, when I think we would prefer a lighter one like Harps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was delicious! The only thing I did different was add some hot sauce at the end to give it a little "kick" because we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This stew has the most wonderful flavor and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather s
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The whole thing was gone, so it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather s

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe! Lovely thick dark sauce. I doubled the recipe, added some parsnips (because I like them) only used one can of beer but used Guinness instead of the Stout. I then simmered for about 3 hours. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
great recipe! I don't know much about beer so I ended up buying Killean's Irish Red instead of a stout beer like the recipe calls for and didn't have any of the bitterness I later saw was common. I also used corned beef and added a cut-up, small head of cabbage. It tasted wonderful and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I was a little worried about the bitterness as I started sampling, but after I added the sugar and italian spices that others have mentioned and then cooked the meat for 2+ hours, it turned out great!!!!! I added the carrots and potatoes after that because we don't like them mushy. Used only half the carrots mentioned. Next time will add more mushrooms? Great stew!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. The beer flavor could have been a little stronger for me but it was still very good. I put everything in my crock pot on low for about 4 hours and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Finally a beef stew recipe that my husband and I enjoy - thoroughly. Only change: I used the Miller High Life he had at home instead of buying the Irish stout. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States