Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Sweet. This looks like what my mom makes. Serve in bowls with a pepper grinder and tons of bread. Drop dumplings go great with this, about half a dozen or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is delicious! Excellent flavor. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Ok, I used Guinness Extra Stout, and this stew was great! Can't say that I followed the recipe exactly. I took other reviewers' suggestions and reduced tomato paste to 3-4 oz,omitted mushrooms, added some exttra spices (don't remember which, sorry:))). It was pleasantly thick without adding cornstratch, so didn't add. Also it took me smth about 1 h 40 min to cook until beef become tender (on the stovetop), so I added potatoes and carrots later then recipe called for (I guess stew could be a mess otherwise)... But the finel result... OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
As others have stated, this is a REALLY tomato-y stew recipe. I countered it by adding a second can of beef broth. I used 2 lbs. of meat, a little less carrots and a little more potatoes than called for. Also a touch of oregano and basil. And it definitely needs salt and and pepper. My husband loved it and this will be our keeper stew recipe as I've been looking for a good basic one for quite some time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Easy and tasty. I was afraid of the dark beer being used and thought it might give it a bad flavor. But I let it simmer for a long time and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This had an aftertaste none cared for. Maybe was the nasty beer we used or one of the other ingredients. Would try it one more time with a better beer. Tony jazzed it up with gravy. That really improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This stew is great, even cheaper cuts of beef become succulent and tender. It's a tiny bit bitter to my tastes so I serve it with sweet petit pois or sweetcorn to balance the flavours. It's my boyfriend's favourite stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Followed the directions exactly and loved it. Turned out perfect - this is our new St. Patrick's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I am a beginner chef but I made this for my family and they LOVED it! The beer really makes this recipe great, but like the others I did add about a tablespoon of brown sugar to balance out the beer, and after simmering for an hour I added a fourth cup of milk and it turned out wonderful. I only put in one carrot though, as my family is not too big on carrots. You really have to double the amount of meat though, one pound is not enough! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I loved this Recipe!!! and so did my friends and family I cooked it and instead of the recomended beer i used hiniken it turned out pretty good very thick. the only thing is next time i make it if i use the same beer i will use a little bit of suger like every one else suggests other then that it was awsome thank you for it and keep em coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States