Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this yesterday for our dinner and it was very tasty. The only change I made was that I cooked it in the crockpot. It was very good. A keeper for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Kim, Although I made some minor changes, this was the best stew I have ever made. I must admit I was a bit leery at first. Some of the things I changed are as follows: 1) After browning the beef in the pan, I added about a cup of white wine to deglaze all the goodies stuck to the pan. After loosening those bits up, I then added the onions and mushrooms. 2) I swapped the Guinness for some good ole' Texas beer. Shiner Black....Yumm 3) I added a small can of hunts diced tomato bits. 4) And I also added a small bag of "Baby" purple onions. I did doubled the cooking time. I like to simmer things for awhile to get the flavors blended. I wasnt in a hurry. I've frozen the leftovers for when my Daughter comes to town in a couple weeks. I bet it will taste even better by then. YUM YUM Thanks Soooo much. Big John (Pearland, TX)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
definately a good stew but I would make a few changes the next time to suite our family a little better. I would definately listen to other reviewers and add more meat and less carrots. It is a very yummy stew and easy to revise for your family needs. I also put dumplings on top, that made for a special treat:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Everyone raved about this except for the person who wasn't a big beer fan. So I guess the flavor of the beer comes out enough that it would bother a non-beer drinker. Otherwise, though, it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Really a great recipe. I searched HIGH and LOW for Stout Beer and ended up getting Guiness Extra Stout. I am SOOOO glad I DID!! It tastes amazing!!I followed the recipe exactly ( adding the garlic to the mushrooms) and I wouldn't change a thing. Well, I did add more potatoes but other than that, this recipe is a keeper. I cut my carrots, potatoes, mushrooms and garlic ahead of time and it made for an easy quick prepration of this meal. Quick tip.... Find and use Stout beer, it made it so worth while. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
GREAT STEW!!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY. The only addition was salt. It was perfect. Highly recommended. I used extra stout beer and it was not too bitter at all like one of the reviews said. The directions left out the garlic (very important) so I added it with the onions and mushrooms. It was easy and delicious. It will be my stew of choice from here on in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was an excellent creamy stew. Made it a day ahead of time and served it for St. Patrick's day with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread, also from this site. I used Smithwick's Irish Ale for the beer and about 6 small red potatoes instead of 2 large baking potatoes. The husband had two huge bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect. I made very few changes. Used 5 potatoes and half bag of peeled baby carrots, and 8 oz of baby bella mushrooms sliced. I seasoned the meat and flour pretty well and mixed them together, browned it in my cast iron enamel dutch oven. I added a bay leaf and a few dried herbs. I used a Sam Adams Black Lager because that is what I had on hand, it was not bitter at all and added a lot to the flavor. Mine started to go a little dry because I baked it for almost 3 hours so I had to add some extra broth halfway through and turned the heat down a bit, but the gravy was very thick and rich and meat was so tender. I served this with boiled cabbage on the side and fresh baked bread, we thought it was better than any stew we have had in restaurants. I will probably use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I used only half a can of tomato paste and only about two cups of carrots. I also added salt and pepper. Everyone said they liked it, but it did taste a little bitter. Will make again but probably with a little less beer. Very filling and even my finicky 7 yr old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDYANNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I made this tonight for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a 12 oz. bottle of coors light and did add 2 more potatoes (we like a lot of potatoes!). It was fantastic! The meat was tender, the veggies were perfect, the taste was awesome and it looked terrific, especially with the parsley sprinkled at the end. My dad is Italian and my mom is Irish and they both LOVED it!!! I am making it again next week for my sister and brother in law. Thank you Kim for a terrific, delicious recipe! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States